We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!!!”
Review of Sea Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Village Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed August 5, 2013

One of my favorite stays at a resort had a first floor and a view of the ocean very roomy
And comfortable. Had all I needed for my stay did have to call front desk for anything.
Always a parking available and never crowded. Nice pool and beach view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aariver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in a timeshare exchange room located near the office.

We arrived a little early and they advised that they would keep the luggage in the office area to allow up to explore (not secured). We arrived after the stated check in time and the room still wasn't ready. We arrived and checked in loaded all of the stuff into the room. While I was unpacking I noticed movement on the be and thought I was imagining things. It turned out that ant were crawling all over the headboard and pillows. As I looked closer about the 2 bedroom suite there were ants everywhere. This unit clearly needed some professional extermination attention. I called the office which had now closed and then the assistance number provided, eventually someone called back and said that there is insecticide under the kitchen sink and we should just spray it everywhere.

While I had no problem with that I did have a problem with sleeping in insecticide. The office staff decided that they would provide laundry soap (normally at a charge) to wash the bedding after spraying.

We wound up taking the headboard that was infested outside onto the balcony. We needed to keep the windows open to get any breeze which allowed the noisy traffic noise to keep us up for most of the first night.

Now exhausted from the travel and battling bugs for the first evening we went to the office the next day they decided to move us to another room in the bulding next door. This also had ants but they were at least at a managable level. Again the room was very hot and lacked the ability to have breeze flow through the room.

As far as the Big Island goes we would gladly return, we just wouldn't stay here.

We arrived a little

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jwsherritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family stayed here in June for a week, and were very disappointed. I know the resort is trying, but really, you've got to buckle down and fix some things. My take on issues brought up by others...
Lack of A/C: This is no small issue. Just to stay reasonably cool, you've got to keep every fan going, and keep every window and door open, which then results in hearing every bit of noise from other rooms. If you think no AC is quaint, go for it. I like being able to sleep at night.
Internet access: Dropped connection constantly. It's 2013. Invest in more bandwidth and more reliable routing equipment.
Cleanliness: Bathrooms were a disgrace. Look, it's not too hard to get a $75 sink from Lowes and replace one that's calcified/rusted out. Also, vacuum the bathroom vents every so often. It's a health issue.
Bugs: I don't want to hear the excuse that there are bugs on the island and that it can't be helped. We stayed at two other places (incl. another on the Big Island) and bugs were NOT an issue. A few extra bug traps thrown under the fridge is not going to cover it. Guest tip: bring Ziploc bags with you and keep ALL food in the fridge, unless you like eating ants.
Housekeeping: What housekeeping? You've got to turn in your towels if you want new ones. (I know, I know, it's not a hotel, but other condos on the island do provide some housekeeping. Just sayin'.)
A few positives:
In-room washer/dryer was great!
BBQ area was nice and the vibe was cool. Met some nice people while grilling dinner every night. (But then, do you REALLY want to cook in an un-airconditioned room?)
View is spectacular and the crashing of waves is out of a dream.
Location is actually good. Close enough to the heart of Kona, but far enough away to avoid much noise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sha503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Sea Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Please accept our sincerest apologies that we were unable to meet your expectations and needs.The timeshare units at Sea Village just started a full unit renovation project this last March that will proceed through the next year until all the units have been updated and upgraded. We hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in unit 3309 over Spring Break. The unit was clean, and spacious enough for 4 adults & our 6 y o daughter. (We brought an inflatable mattress and had to move some furniture to accommodate it.)
The kitchen was fully equipped with the necessities, and it was nice to have a few cleaning supplies should we needed them (we didn't).
The condo location was about a mile from the town of Kona, but not a lot of room on either side of the road for walking.
The grounds are immaculate! Always lots of work/upkeep of the flowery plants and beautiful trees. And, we did not hear any noise coming from the parking lot (and we slept with our windows open).
But, the best part has to be the solar-heated pool! We spent many hours relaxing on the lounge chairs, and going in for dips in the pool to cool off. It was so nice! One evening, it was like going into a warm bath - ahhh! Another plus is the bathrooms located in the pool area, and the hot tub too.
The condos may be a bit dated, but this one is well maintained & upgraded. Would definitely stay at the Sea Village again, especially for the location & the pool!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cdninak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in unit 3315 from March 9 - 23.
The unit was top notch.
It was a "plus" being on the top floor with no one above.
To be clear, it is not "water view", it is "waterfront".
You are literally looking straight down on the ocean.
In the morning we had our coffee on the lanai while watching the pod of spinner dolphins perform.
The cruise ships would come and go, the parasailers flying back and forth as well as the many boat activities going on kept things interesting.
The sunsets every night were awesome!
The unit was totally "dialed in", from the furniture, big screen TV's, great bed and all the kitchen utensils etc. you would have at home.
They also had all the beach gear you could possibly need.
The owners John and Margie were a pleasure to deal with and were a great deal of hepl.
The complex is well managed with beautiful gardens,pool and bbg area.
Parkig was plentiful and everyone was friendly and helpful.
One note, all units are individually owned, so do your homework.
The Island itself is "big" with a ton of activities and sights.
Kilauea Volcano/Hapuna, Mauna Kea, Spencer Beaches/Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden are a must!
My wife and I love to snorkel, and the highlights were Captain Cook Monument and especially the Manta Ray Night Snorkel - wow!
There are many wonderful restaurants near by as well.
All in all, it was a great holiday.
We will be back and hopefully staying in unit 3315 again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vanislanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed one week in building 3 and had a decent view of the ocean. The unit was clean and completed furnished with all the beach toys etc. we needed. The owners were very accommading especially when we switched units with them after our son and his wife flew home. We moved to their 1 bedroom in building 2 with an absolutely beautiful view of the ocean. The grounds are very well kept and clean. I would highly recommend staying here and we play to return very soon. It was a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Room 2202 for 1 bedroom or 3203 for 2 bedrooms. Building 3 is quietier except for those going to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeneg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is awful. It is close to a very busy road and noisy all hours of the day. Good luck sleeping. It is not well kept up or cleaned. The room that we had was dirty, and the staff failed to clean it even after we complained. The pool is very small. Stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Find a different place. My recommendation is don't stay here. Try anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank annonomous46140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
492 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Village Resort

Address: 75-6000 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $135 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your refuge at Sea Village is located on the sunny, dry side of the island in Kona, where the tradewinds keep you comfortable year round. Float in the seaside pool, or sip estate-select Kona coffee from your private lanai with the Pacific close enough to taste as the surf breaks against the resorts sea wall. A true vacation paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sea Village Kailua Kona
Sea Village Kona
Sea Village Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing