We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
living room
kitchen
bedroom with king bed
back yard and lanai
front lanai with gas grill
back yard
bathroom with stackable washer/dryer
living room with propane wall heater
front of cottage
owner's home on the 5 acre property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wildsongs
Inland Northwest, Us
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I have been traveling together every year for 17 years. Lots of hotels, apartments, little cottages…..this is the BEST ever. This cottage (really a very nice one bedroom house) was like coming home every night to our own home. It is beautiful and very clean.

The location is pure paradise. Nestled into trees, ferns and amazing flowers, every window looks out at something green or flowering! As a photographer, the area around the cottage alone afforded me wonderful opportunities to shoot flowers, wildlife and greenery that just grew everywhere! The cottage is situated 2700 feet up the mountain ….but the road is great and even in the dense fog we had one day, it was easy to drive. Not a steep drive since it winds back and forth, but a pleasant drive that takes just a few minutes.

Everything you could need is in the house. A full kitchen with utensils, pots and pans and dishes, as well as spices and other condiments. We ate at the cottage two out of three meals each day! An added bonus was the wonderful washer and dryer that got plenty of use as we were there for two weeks. The bedroom is perfect. It opens onto the back deck. The living room is much bigger than it looks in the pictures. Cable, DVDs, books, Wi-Fi – its all there!

There is a wonderful front porch to sit out and enjoy the birds chirping or watch the wild life! And the front porch has a BBQ grill that we used several times to make meals.

If the cottage is booked, see if the cabin is available. It’s on the same property, separated by greenery and far enough away that you never hear noise from one place to the other. It is a charming, rustic home with a hot tub outside and a great porch for sitting! It too is set into the tropical ferns and trees!

The adventures from here are many, the location is perfect. You are out of the hustle and noise of town, but close enough to get there quickly when you want to. The night noises are wonderful - tropical birds and critters that don’t keep you awake, they just lull you to sleep!

Caroline and Scott were wonderful hosts and very helpful with everything. They make you feel like long lost friends! We will definitely stay there when we return to Hawaii.

If this is your first visit to the Island, here are some tips:

There is a local Safeway and Walmart for groceries and other necessities in Kona. Souvenirs cost less and are often exactly the same as you find in a lot of the stores down town. Safeway and Walmart have connecting parking lots and are easy to find.

It is only a few minutes to the Kailua-Kona area, where there are a lot of beaches and adventures, great shopping and good food! Our favorite beach was Beach 69, so named because it used to be at mile marker 69. Now it is just past mile marker 71! The Cindy Coats Gallery is a bright, happy place to visit while you are in Kona! The Fish Hopper has outstanding Calamari. Big Island Grill has portions so big we could never finish them! Their fish and chips – made from local fresh catch of the day- are outstanding. Their Teriyaki Beef is excellent! Also in the Kona area is Jackie Rey’s Ohana Grill. Wonderful seafood, excellent ribs! The Pine Tree Café makes large portion breakfasts and worth a visit.

If you are in the Captain Cook area, be sure to visit the Manago Hotel Restaurant and have some pork chops! Better than good.

It is only about an hour and a half drive to the other side of the island where you can visit Hilo and Volcano National Park. Use the Saddle Road and it takes you right through the middle of the island to the other side instead of the Volcano Road, which will take about three hours. We stayed at the Dolphin Bay Motel while we were there. Great stay. The Volcano National Park, the Orchid Showroom in Glenwood and the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens were the highlights for us. On the road from the Gardens to the main highway, you will find a small roadside outdoor café called What’s Shaking – amazing fresh fish wraps! While in Hilo, Ken’s Pancake House is a great place for breakfast

If you go up to the North end of the Island, following along the coast from Kona, you find beautiful green countryside with little towns along the way. Stop at the King’s View Café for the best smoothies. They even have gluten free pizza! Then drive back through the countryside to Waimea and back to Kailua-Kona.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just an amazing location and better than the pictures!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07vonnie
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, Private, Perfect”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is up the mountain a bit, in a very quiet area. It is perfect for someone wanting to experience the Hawaiian life, not the tourist life. The cottage I very private & completely surrounded by native foliage. It is very homey, equipped with everything you need for your stay, from coolers to beach chairs to snorkel gear, etc. The owners are very accessible & accommodating. I loved it & will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private
Liked least: small water heater
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaPeki
Kona
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth another stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very quaint, and truly what we were looking for for this stay in Hawaii. Fresh air, flora galore,clear starry skies at night, and the sound of roosters when you wake up in the morning. Caroline and Scott were very personable and a huge vase of Anthuriums awaited us upon our arrival.
The electric blanket kept the chill off at night, and the propane heater warmed the place up quickly in the morning.
The only thing I would add to the cottage is a few kitchen items (because I love to cook)-a blender, a mixer and a few cookie sheets-but this is my own preferences-not most people on vacation (holo holo)
We look forward to our next stay at Carson's Cottage!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvcheryl
Farmington, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The cottage was clean and well stocked. It was a little chilly for me, but the owners said that January and February are the coolest months there. My husband loved the temperature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellarosa...
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
“This was exactly what we needed !”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Our stay at Carson's Cottage was just what we wanted and needed. We were looking for peace and quiet and that is just what we got. The cottage had everything and more that you would need including boogie boards, cooler and beach chairs. It was a short drive to the beach and into town but one of the best times we had was staying home during a rain storm and playing cribbage on the covered front porch without a care in the world. Wish it didn't have to end but we will definitely be back !! Thanks Scott and Caroline for a great stay and it was so nice to meet you both. Aloha !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2014
Thank you Susan and Casey for the wonderful review! We enjoyed having you at the cottage for some rest and relaxation from your own inn in Oregon!
It was great meeting you both and exchanging stories...so glad you enjoyed yourselves and all that the Big Island has to offer!
Hopefully we will be in your neck of the woods soon as our daughter will be choosing a school in the Pacific Northwest. We would love to come check out your lovely Bella Rosa Inn and see you both again!
A hui hou!
Caroline and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurentBe...
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A little gem in the jungle”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Be in the middle of the jungle yet a couple of miles from the beach.
This cottage is a gem that I would like to keep for myself.
But Caroline and Scott are such wonderful hosts that it would be unfair not to write about their house.
Whatever you might need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable is in the house.
We had BBQ on the deck every night...
In the morning, you wake up at the sound of the birds, and the sight of flowers in the garden.
You are away from the crowds, in a cooler and fresher air than at sea level, and still can be snorkeling within minutes.
We made it our base for a week on the west coast, and we'll go back for sure.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Close to Kona, but secluded
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Laurent and Lily! Thanks for you for such a wonderful review! It was a pleasure meeting you both and sharing stories of travel and cusine! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here on the Big Island and we hope we will see you again!
A hui Hou (until we meet again),

Caroline and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneRE
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful, complete en clean cottage.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is beautiful and has everything you need. Everything was very clean. The free wireless internet was good. Caroline and her husband are very nice people who make you feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2013
We are glad you had a great time here! It was nice meeting you and hope you'll be back to the Big Island and Carson's again soon!
Caroline and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing