We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the pictures...”
Review of Kona Billfisher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Billfisher
Reviewed September 7, 2013

my family and I stayed in unit K3 from august 29 - sept 5.. I'm happy to say the pictures do not do the place justice (and if I get a chance I'll upload a couple) we stayed in the one bedroom unit. the pull out couch felt great..

the location is good because it's near many restaurants and shops and in walking distance to the peir where you'll need to go for many of the water activities.. we rented car (which really wasn't necessary so we drove to walmart and stocked up on some food for the week). The car was returned with more than half of the tank of gas full...

the pool is decent (3 - 8ft) but if you're in the mood you can take a hike to magic sands beach (i say hike because it's probably about 5 or 6 miles away walking) but its a straight walk as it's on Alii drive..

Unilke some of the other reviews my family and I had no issues with the staff.. In fact Liz was great super helpful and patient.. always willing to answer any and all questions we had..

Many of the other guests were super friendly and helpful as well...

yes Billfisher is located in a touristy area but that's what you are.. a tourist... there are plenty of tour options available where you can get a taste of Hawaii sans the touristy feel...

overall I had a great time in and I know I will be back to vacation in Hawaii again and would surely consider staying at the billfisher..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Monique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

I highly recommend Kona Billfisher in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. My wife and I stayed in unit X2 July 15th - 21st. Right from the start, we had a great reception from Sandy and Karen while checking in and throughout our stay. Even though the rooms are not the most modern, they were extremely clean and comfortable with all the amenities of a small apartment. (Having the appliances was a plus for those days we decided to stay in for breakfast or dinner). The location is great too. It is right on the edge of Kailua-Kona Village and walking distance to restaurants and shops and only minutes from the airport. Loved Hawaii and plan to return in the next few years!

Room Tip: Unit X2 has partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Location is good if you like being on Alii Drive (the touristy area with lot's of restaurants and souvenir shops). We stayed in the one-bedroom unit on the second floor of blg O. Good view of the ocean and sunset. Bldg O is situated in the back of the complex, next to busy highway. Street noise was loud when windows are open. Unit was spacious for two adults, clean and nicely furnished. Although there is a sofa bed, may be too cramped for two couples. Very small but well-quipped kitchen that has everything you'll need to prepare meals. Only salt/pepper available so must purchase all food items. A/C is extra charge ($10 p/day) but pls be aware that it is very, very noisy. We had to turn it off at night. Wi-fi is also extra ($20 p/week). The wi-fi was intermittent in our unit, worked better sitting near the window.
The Big Island of Hawaii is very beautiful but huge compared to the other islands. A car is highly recommended to fully enjoy and see the sights. There's a Wal-Mart, Target and Costco a short drive away. Lot's of small Farmer's Markets for great local fruits.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor units of Bldg O has a view of the ocean but situated next the a noisy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rmjmsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for a week and were very pleased with the location, spacious rooms, Cleanliness, very comfortable bed and plenty of fluffy towels. Will agree with others about front line staff, not a lot of aloha happiness. Be prepared to pay $10 a day extra for air conditioning, we didn't need it at all. It was nice to have beach chairs, small cooler and noodles in unit for our use. The one thing missing was a hair dryer. Would recommend this property if you like independence and not need waited on. We will return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank krmd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I was concerned with our exchange through RCI. However, I am pleased with the spaciousness of our unit & cleanliness. I requested a view before our arrival & we were given a unit in the F building with a view if the bat. We are next to a vacant lot so it feels like we are in the country. We have seen mongoose in the lawn & various birds. The pool & bbq area is very neat & clean yes, we miss having a washer/dryer in our unit but its OK. As others have mentioned its a short walk to village. There is an ABC store with basics that is handy until time for supermarket run.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cookieladyBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed a week in Agust 2012. This was my second stay in Billfisher. Love it. Very, very clean. Nice big rooms and a kitchen. Had a balcony overlooking the ocean and downtown Kona. We had a third floor unit. Location is great. Nice to walk in the evening and in the morning for a cup of coffee. Farmer's market is in the walking distance (10 - 15 min walk). We stopped at Costco on the way from the airport to this condo and bought food to cook. It was nice to have a kitchen. Condo is the way to vacation in Kona. Eating out is expensive. Local grocery stores are expensive too, so go to Costco - their prices are just like on the mainland (we live in CA and our Costco prices are the same as in Kona). Costco is only 5 - 10 min drive from this condo. The only negative about this place is the Wi Fi connection. It's poor and it's not free. You have to pay for it, but do not plan on streaming any videos or use Skype. It's not good for it (too slow). Only OK for basic web search.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anna y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived to a wonderful welcome it was our 60th anniversary. We had a chilled bottle of champagne in our room. The room was very clean and comfortable beautiful art work comfortable beds(the bedspread was ugly). The staff was very friendly especially the gals in the office who helped us with touring plans around the island. People at the bbq area were very friendly a short walk to everything in this small town.We will always remember this trip and hope to come back one day.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
829 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#31 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
451 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Billfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Billfisher

Address: 75-5841 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1329
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $180 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Billfisher 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kona Billfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Billfisher Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Billfisher Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing