We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Volcano Van Private Tours
  
Ways to Experience The Volcano Van Private Tours
from $187.50
More Info
from $166.67
More Info
from $166.67
More Info
from $156.25
More Info
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
236
14
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
236
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the big island volcano national park malasadas black sand beach lava trees akaka falls customized tour his enthusiasm full day tour great tour lava tube wraps knowledgeable guide beautiful sights island tour small group answered all our questions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were picked up straight from our accommodation, even though they had travelled from the other side of the island to get to us. We were lucky enough to get a cancellation and went 2 days after booking it. Our driver Scott was great, he had so much knowledge of Volcanoes and the area. There wasn’t a question he couldn’t answer. We did pay to share a van but we got it to ourselves, not that we would have minded anyway. The tours are really tailored to what you want. You tell them where you want to go and they will base the tour around that. We were staying in the Leilani Estate right where last years eruption caused so much devastation. Because of this we had already seen much of that area so he took us to Rainbow and Akaka Falls and some of the beautiful scenic views. He was full of information the whole time we were driving. We then went to the Volcano National Park. We didn’t have to pay along with the other tourists in the parks, we just went through with Scott as he chatted to the staff so this must all be rearranged. Lunch was provided which was delicious. Would definitely recommend them.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Nicky9876543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

First of all I would like to say that when I called to book the tour everyone was super nice! They accommodated all of our needs including pick up and drop off at Kona ap. Scott was our driver/tour expert and he was fabulous. He took us around the island and showed us everything! He took the time to explain everything that was happening on the island and to ensure we were on time for our return flight. There are too many things to list about Volcano Van so just trust me you won’t be disappointed. Top notch tour service plus gives Veterans discount!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Billtheppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

We reserved Volcano Van based on other superior TripAdvisor reviews. Scott exceeded our expectations. He was prompt, thoughtful, courteous, and engaged two adults and two teenagers for a personalized, educational 9-hour experience. He’s brilliant and enthusiastically answered all of our questions on long drives with wit and easy-to-understand explanations. He made us feel like he was showing his good friends around the island with stops at delicious and/or beautiful places along the way. First rate excursion.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank T3dH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

We highly recommend taking a tour with The Volcano Van Tours! My family (with 2 teenagers) did the “Choose your Big Island Experience” tour. Our tour guide was Scott and he worked with me via e-mail to come up with the perfect all day tour to accommodate all our goals! We learned so much about the island, explored unique areas, tried many delicious local foods, went to the Botanical Gardens, saw the newest black sand beach and so much more! Scott made sure we were comfortable the entire time and offered wraps, snacks and drinks along the way which was very appreciated. It was one of the highlights of our Big Island trip and having a personal tour guide made everything stress free and the ideal vacation experience. Book with him today!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank mmkloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019

Our day trip started with a pick-up at our hotel in Kona. Scott was our guide and he took us to sites we wouldn't have found on our own. He is very knowledgeable about volcanos and the island and has a great sense of humor! It was an eight hour 5 Star Day and we highly recommend The Volcano Van.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

Scott was such a knowledgeable and friendly tour guide, he truly was the perfect fit for the occasion! The tour was diverse and full of activity but also adaptable and catered to our preferences. It helped that Scott knew the answer to practically every question we asked. At the end of the day we felt like we traveled the world in the span of nine hours. We really got an informative and holistic experience that made our trip to Kona well worth it. Thanks! Highly recommended!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank lucyl706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews