We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Beautiful grounds, very well maintained. There is no real view of the ocean, but the grounds are very tropical and you still feel like you're on a tropical vacation. The whole experience was great, from check-in to check-out. We arrived early, but our room was available right away. The parking lot is not centrally located and it was a bit of a walk to get to our room (we stayed in the furthest area with suites), but a bellman helped us find our room and helped us with our luggage into the room. Other than the initial ride, we had to lug everything (ice chests, beach bags, groceries, etc) back and forth since we never saw a bellman with a golf cart the rest of the time we were there.

The resort amenities are nice, although we never used them. They offer multiple pools and tennis courts, but we were more interested in exploring the island than staying at the resort. We did utilize the BBQ one night which was very convenient (and a money saver!). We did also check out a boogie board, beach chairs and an ice chest from the front desk for the week which was nice to have in the vehicle so if we saw a place to stop on our journey around the island, we would have them handy.

The location of the resort is quite nice, though a bit of a ways from town and beaches. While we stayed, the Ironman World Championships were going on so it was nice to be out of town where all of the athletes were training and away from the course. Beaches are only a few moments drive.

The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The kitchen was well equipped and fully functional. So nice to have full sized fridge/freezer and stove/oven. It was great having the washer and dryer in the unit. The appearance of the rooms were a bit rundown and could use some updating, but definitely not a deal breaker, all things considered.

We went in October for 6 days for our "babymoon" and would definitely return with our newly expanded family again!

Room Tip: If yoy expect to be carrying lots of things from the vehicle to the room, consider a room closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymmie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback along with some helpful tips for future guests. We apologize you were unable to locate a bellman during your stay and for the distance from the parking lot to your room. Our goal is to have our resorts up to each guest’s standards and your feedback will help us to do so. It’s great to hear you found our rooms comfortable and accommodating. We hope you come back to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 529 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a great hotel, at super prices considering Kona average prices. It is 10 km from
downtown Kona, in a quiet area, easy to reach.
It’s not the classic tall building, it’s more like a village, because the rooms are located in 2
floors villas, each with 8 large rooms. There are several swimming pools with hot tub and
tennis courts, and a big parking lot.
Check in was easy and everybody was very kind, they gave us lots of information and
granted us late check out for departure, because our flight was at 9 pm. When we
checked out, they stored our luggage for us so we could drive around Kona without
having our valuables in the car.
The price was excellent, just around 100 USD/night, and we had so many amenities. The
room was very large: living room, with a big sofa, TV and a dining table for 4 people, fully
equipped kitchen with microwave and dishwasher, a large bedroom with king bed and
wardrobe, and a large terrace with another table for 4 and a chaise longue. The bathroom
was big and clean and well equipped with shampoo, body wash and pool towels. We even
had ensuite washing machine and dryer, with complimentary detergent. Wi-fi internet
was also complimentary, as was parking. That was much more than what we expected.You access the pool with a password, and you can also use the hot tub. I didn’t try the
tennis courts so I can’t say how it works

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vale23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are so glad to know you enjoyed our unit and resort amenities during your visit. We hope you come back to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is really amazing and We didn't have any trouble in our stay. The only problem that we had was at the check in time. We arrived on 09/25/13 around noon because our flight was in the morning. We were informed that was not possible get in the room because it was not cleaned yet. I suggested go out and take lunch, because one hour was enough time to clean a room. One hour and thirty minutes after my first try we came back to the hotel and they said "The room it was not cleaned" and I was supposed to wait. We waited four hours (since noon) and like magic 4:00 PM the room was cleaned. I suggest if you are planning come early and have a local phone, call the hotel and ask them for an early check in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The room that we stayed in was dated. The cabinets were worn, the furniture was worn,but, the unit was very clean. All of the staff, especially the front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. I did not experience anything but joy at seeing me and a willing spirit from the staff the entire time we were there. I really can't complain about the stay itself (it was wonderful). The units could use some updating, but, I would stay again just because of the exceptional service. The pool and hot tub are convenient as we'll as the grill.

Room Tip: We stayed on the right hand side and were treated to a small creek below our balcony. The sun setti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for providing such great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the friendly staff and resort accommodations. We appreciate the information regarding the units as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest stay experience. We hope you come back to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of the best places I've ever stayed at - huge, luxurious accommodations with lovely grounds. And excellent value too. I loved having breakfast on the balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. Our unit was clean, comfortable and well-equipped, and I'd happily stay there again.

Be aware that if you have an upstairs unit, there are no elevators, but the staff will help you carry luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometimesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback including the helpful tip regarding upstairs unit access for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the resort accommodations and unit view. We hope you come back to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have returned to this resort several times. The multiple BBQs and swimming pools ensure that you don't have to wait long to BBQ or jump in a crowded pool. We usually rent the two bedroom suite which comes with a large space between the bedrooms that comes in very handy when you have to have family visiting. The "pods" as we call them are spacious and within walking distance to beautiful sunsets and short drives to the beach. We are planning to return in 2015 for our two week stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the Golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashafoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the resort accommodations. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place is a sports persons dream. Eleven tennis courts, eight small pools and a golf course plus the Pacific Ocean on your door step. We stayed for three nights in a self contained apartment that you could get lost in. There was a living room that could hold twenty people easily, a fully fitted kitchen and laundry room within. A very large bedroom with en suite facilities and a balcony.

Whilst we did not have an ocean view it was delightful eating breakfast outside every morning in the warm sunshine. The golf course was being renovated so the number of guests was reduced as were the amenities available and I think we got a reduced rate because of this.

The resort is a little isolated but for peace quiet and space it was excellent.

Room Tip: The car park is isolated from the apartments so if you do not like walking much then try and get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
246 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.0 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $183 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! With a stunning coastal view of Keauhou Bay's private harbor, the Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village invites you to enjoy your perfect Hawaiian vacation. The Holua Resort offers 73 spacious, air-conditioned villas designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a private lanai or patio with ocean, mountain or golf course view. Step outside your door and enjoy six sparkling swimming pools and whirlpools, 11 world-class tennis courts, 4 pickle ball courts, a fitness facility, and even on-site activities. When you're ready to explore your spectacular surroundings, head out to sea for some of the best sport fishing in the Pacific. Surf crystalline tropical waters in the morning and snow-ski on breathtaking Mauna Kea in the afternoon. From fascinating sights and spectacular natural beauty to endless recreation, the best of the "Big Island" welcomes you Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village for your next romantic getaway, family vacation or golf trip to Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Holua Hotel Kailua Kona
Holua Resort Mauna Loa Village
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing