We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, a Shell property doesn't disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Once again, a Shell property doesn't disappoint”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We've had a great experience renting Shell's property on Kauai (Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy) on 2 prior occasions, and we just returned home from a week at the Holua Resort with similar results. We loved the tremendous space in the 2-BR unit (2000 SF, with 2 bedrooms down, a large family room/kitchen up with a queen sleeper, 2.5 bathrooms, and washer/dryer). The unit was spotlessly clean with everything in excellent repair and fairly new, and the grounds were lovingly maintained. We didn't use the pools much but certainly not because they weren't readily available, but did use the tennis courts on multiple occasions--there's a very nice tennis center on site with 11 courts, free to guests before 5 PM (and truly we probably could have used them after 5 as well, though we didn't). The only modest criticism I have is that housekeeping is spottier than at the Beachboy; in particular we had a recurring issue with towels being taken away but not replaced until we called (at which point they were always quickly delivered with aloha, in fairness).

We liked the location: Keauhou was close enough to the action in Kailua-Kona while still providing a less frenetic feel than staying directly in town, and was very convenient to the tours we did with Ocean Safaris and Fair Winds, both within easy walking distance in Keauhou Harbor. It's worth mentioning that at least at this time of the year, the Keauhou area is consistently overcast in the afternoon--as the primo beaches are 45-60 minutes north anyway and reliably sunny, this really wasn't an issue for us. In summary: well done, Shell; we will stay here again in a heartbeat if we make it back to the Big Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    120
    25
    15
    4
See reviews for
217
203
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Liked it so much we extended our stay to two nights and then came back after circling the island for a week before flying out of Kona. Great value for money considering how much space you get and how fully equipped the kitchen/rooms are - they thought of everything! Need to stay longer to get full use of the onsite facilities (pools, fitness centre, tennis courts, etc.). Staff are super friendly and very efficient. Our bathroom ceiling started leaking (turns out the people upstairs blocked and flooded their toilet) and maintenance were there within 5 minutes to fix the problem and even offered us another room on the spot. Loved the funky carpets too... though they do tend to camouflage your stuff so you need to check the floor thoroughly before you leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor before, but felt compelled to do so after staying at this resort, as it was an outstanding experience. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the suite was the largest and nicest we've ever stayed in. The resort includes multiple swimming pools, tennis courts and other amenities. And the rate was almost unbelievable, considering the size (2000 SF) and quality of the suite we stayed in. My family was very surprised and totally impressed, as I tend to look for "value" when I book facilities for our vacation, which sometimes translates into "cheap". This was the most pleasurable and luxurious facility we've every stayed in, and we would certainly stay here again on a future visit to the Big Island. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite, with a huge family room, full kitchen, 2 1/2 baths, and a washer/dryer in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkGW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafalgar, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our second time to stay here. We like having a kitchen and laundry. The rooms are spacious and the grounds beautiful. There were two pools within a few steps of our room and we had our own private pond with fountain. We ate breakfast on the patio every morning. The activities planner was very helpful with ideas for adventures and getting us nice discounts. Very convenient to dining and shopping - all just up the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdueFan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June during our recent tour around Hawaii and were really surprised (in a good way!) by this place. Situated around 15 minutes drive south of the centre of Kona really seemed to drop the price compared to other places we had seen. So we weren’t expecting too much.

We were allocated a one bed apartment and were lucky enough that our balcony overlooked the ocean. The apartment was massive! There was a decent size kitchen, that although I confess we didn’t really use, would have been suitable to cook proper meals. The bedroom had a huge comfortable bed and the ensuite bathroom had a good shower, which are two big plus points for me. These bits alone were probably the size of all the other studio apartments we stayed in across Hawaii. However, in addition to this there was a big lounge area that also fronted onto the balcony.

Beyond this initial surprise, everything was clean and nicely presented. The units were clustered around several small pool areas, which was quite nice. All staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful. Since our flight out wasn’t until the evening (i.e. hugely beyond even a late check-out) the front desk staff offered to store our luggage and gave us towels and toiletries etc to use the showers in their fitness centre after we had been out for the day.

There was a shopping centre just up the road with a supermarket and it was actually only a 5 minute drive to a great beach with some fantastic snorkelling (kahaluu beach park – busy but worth it if you get out towards the breakwater). Overall, we would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were married in Kona, Hawaii in June of 2009 and stayed at this resort. A solid 3 and 1/2 star resort. I wouldn't really call it a resort when there aren't any bars on the property or an all-inclusive option (no beach either). However, the condo's we stayed in were wonderfully decorated (although very bright colors) and kept clean. The grounds are beautiful and everything you would need including several beaches, grocery stores, downtown, etc. is all within a 10 minute drive at most. There is no beach on the property but a lovely view of the sunset right off the adjacent golf course.

This is a perfect place to stay if you want to go out to the public beaches, grocery shop, do excursions, etc. You can't beat a better place for the price. Not a place I would recommend for those that want to stay at the resort the entire time. You can't get that experience for $99-$150 a night. I was here for 2 weeks and never had any issue with the unit, service, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Holua Resort for 3 days while visiting the Kona side of the island. It's about 15 miles south of the airport and the very south end of Alii Drive which is the 7 mile stretch where most of the hotels are located in this area. The condo was beautiful. We had a 2 bedroom with a kitchen. The kitchen and living room were upstairs and the bedrooms were downstairs. The kitchen was well appointed with everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the bedrooms had black out drapes which are always nice in Hawaii in case you don't want to get up with the sun. Sitting on the lanai having breakfast and listening to the birds is heaven although don't leave your food unattended as they are not shy about visiting your lanai for their own bite to eat. We had a partial ocean view behind one of the pools and across the golf course that abuts the property. Unfortunately, it looks like there will soon be more condos behind these which will obstruct any view. The only downside (which was NOT a downside for us but may be for others) was the distance between the parking garage and the rooms. We happened to have a condo that was one of the furthest from the garage. They have a wonderful service that picks you up in a golf type cart and takes you and your luggage to your room. You are welcome to use it any time so if you happened to bring back groceries or something you didn't have to carry it all yourself. We happened to like walking the beautiful property and didn't mind not having our car right outside our room like many places. I liked that this property was at the south end of Alii drive and outside the hustle and bustle of the main part of that drive. If you don't have a car, you'd want to stay in one of the hotels closer to the middle or north end of Alii so the shops, restaurants and beaches would be within walking distance. But if you do have a car, Holua Resorts is a great base from which to explore the west side of the Big Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
239 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
5.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Property: Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! With a stunning coastal view of Keauhou Bay's private harbor, the Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village invites you to enjoy your perfect Hawaiian vacation. The Holua Resort offers 73 spacious, air-conditioned villas designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a private lanai or patio with ocean, mountain or golf course view. Step outside your door and enjoy six sparkling swimming pools and whirlpools, 11 world-class tennis courts, 4 pickle ball courts, a fitness facility, and even on-site activities. When you're ready to explore your spectacular surroundings, head out to sea for some of the best sport fishing in the Pacific. Surf crystalline tropical waters in the morning and snow-ski on breathtaking Mauna Kea in the afternoon. From fascinating sights and spectacular natural beauty to endless recreation, the best of the "Big Island" welcomes you Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village for your next romantic getaway, family vacation or golf trip to Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Holua Hotel Kailua Kona
Holua Resort Mauna Loa Village
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing