We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating. Huge condo. Friendly staff. Would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very accomodating. Huge condo. Friendly staff. Would stay again!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. I reserved a 1 bedroom condo, but they put us up in a 2 bedroom. It was huge. 2 large bedrooms (each with their own bathroom) downstairs. A large living room and 1/2 bath and kitchen upstairs. Everything we needed to cook meals. Very clean place and the beds were very comfy. They provided coffee every day along with sugar/creamer. The condos come with washer/dryer and they provide detergent. After flying from the east coast of the U.S. with 2 kids, having a condo was great the first few days. With the time change, getting up at 5am and having a living room to hang out in was a huge plus. Internet access was fine. The front desk was helpful with every request. They never pressured us into sitting through a timeshare sell. The concierge set us up on a luau and a snorkeling boat trip. The day we checked out they let us use the workout room showers after our snorkeling trip (came back at 2pm) and provided us with towels and soap/shampoo. The snorkeling trip was 1/4 mile walk to the end of the road, which was very convenient. The pools and hot tub were very clean. There are at least 6 pools in the complex, so they were never crowded. It's close (driving) to a grocery/drug store, but about a 6 mile drive to Kona. This wasn't a problem at all and we always found a parking spot in Kona.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room in the place. Every room has a lanai, so it's a nice way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler11196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    120
    25
    16
    4
See reviews for
220
203
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife booked this hotel in Kona without any expectation, we were a little bit disappointing by the condo we got in Lahaina Maui. We flew the last flight from Maui to Kona, it was late and dark, the drive to the resort we were wary, we got into our room around 11PM, it is not a room it is a huge condo 2 levels, the condo is beautiful, there are 2 bedrooms with each own bathroom, a huge living room upstair, open space kitchen, I felt like home!

It is a very beautiful resort, and for sure the condo can accommodate easily family with kids.

In all the hotels we stayed while visiting Hawaii, this one is the BEST!

The gentlemen at the front desk was kind enough to let us checkout at 12 instead of 10am as we arrived quite late, Mahalo!

Sadly we moved to another hotel the next day on the Hilo side to visit the Volcano, knowing now how the hotels in Hilo were, we would stay in Kona at drive to the Volcano instead.

Overall, I love this resort and for sure will return on our next trip to Big Island!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the moment we walked in to this place we were thrilled. We had booked a 1 bedroom condo but they gave us one with 2. This let my wife put her stuff in the other room. We loved and used the lanai as well as both swimming pools outside our place as well as a hot tub. The condo was fully stocked to start us off including a packet of coffee and full set of plates, glasses flatware and and ice in the fridge. Also covered parking was included which is great considering how hot the sun can get.
When I first saw online the pictures of the place I thought that the colors were a little loud but it fits right with Hawaii. My one regret was that we were only there for 3 nights. The staff, all of them, was friendly and helpful with suggestions for places to go and also to eat. I cannot say enough about this place and the price was amazing. It was under $110 a night. What’s not to love??????

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The units are very nicely done with large spacious living room very nice and complete kitchen and large bedroom with bath attached. There is a lanai off of the living room and bedroom, very large with a pleasant view and plenty of sunshine. It has all of the standard amenities you could possibly want and recently renovated to ensure that the property is in top shape. The Resort is located just off of Ali'i drive and close to all of the local attractions and Kailua town. There are multiple pools and good parking for the rental car. This is our 3d stay here and we feel very comfortable - it has a nice warm feel about the resort and the staff here are always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice, we prefer a second floor unit for the lanai and the peacefulness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerDanAsheville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaaloa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked the 2 bedroom 2 story townhouse. Very comfortable and clean. Full kitchen, open floor plan-- lots of space. Close to anything you may need but also out of the immediate hub-bub of Kailua town. Each building has it's own pool and hot tub--small but useable. This was our 2nd stay. My only complaint is the wi-fi was not reliable--sometimes slow other times not working. TVs are dated--CRT model--not flat screens but don't really come here to watch tv. Very close to Kahalu'u snorkeling beach < 5 minutes. Overall a nice spot to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were a group of 6 people of different ages from 70s to young boys and we all thought it has been a great place to stay. It is not on the sea and does not have any dirrect access to any beach,... but anyway this is big island and finding beaches and ocean to swim into is not so easy. friendly service at the desk top, really helpful indication on aactivities around. Comfortable free parking garage: no cars allowed in the resort. at arrival, after parking they bring you to the assigned apartment with golf carts so you do not have to carry all your suitcases!
2 floor apartmen with bright colours and new fornitures: bedrooms are on ground floor and kitchen and dining room on first.This is a strange lay out for us but nothing against it. bedrooms are clean as well a bathrrooms huge (2 1/2) and the rest of the apartment. Full kitchen, three tvs,... and a dedicated swimming pool right outside the door (maybe too much chlorine in it). beautiful and colourful hawaian trees and birds all around, fountains and small rivers complete the picture. Definitely we'll be back if ever in Kona: no use looking for anything different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angecorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ended up staying here because a family member is a time-share owner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The villas are clean/quite, colorful, very hawaiian. The location is good, close to shopping center and the grounds are well maintained. Arts/Crafts lady (Beth) was great. We really enjoyed our Lei making experience.

Downsides: The fitness center is a joke. There is one set of 10 pound weights, a treadmill I might find in a home, an exercise bike and a stairclimber. There is a weight machine but not many attachments. This might be a fine center to build in my garage but not befitting of a "resort". Its also super hot and humid without even a fan. Not surprising that I rarely saw anyone trying to workout.

The pools are average and not one of them was shallow enough for my toddlers. There are 8 pools and hot tubs, but they are all identical.

All and All an average experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnavarromd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
241 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.0 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,573 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Property: Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! With a stunning coastal view of Keauhou Bay's private harbor, the Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village invites you to enjoy your perfect Hawaiian vacation. The Holua Resort offers 73 spacious, air-conditioned villas designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a private lanai or patio with ocean, mountain or golf course view. Step outside your door and enjoy six sparkling swimming pools and whirlpools, 11 world-class tennis courts, 4 pickle ball courts, a fitness facility, and even on-site activities. When you're ready to explore your spectacular surroundings, head out to sea for some of the best sport fishing in the Pacific. Surf crystalline tropical waters in the morning and snow-ski on breathtaking Mauna Kea in the afternoon. From fascinating sights and spectacular natural beauty to endless recreation, the best of the "Big Island" welcomes you Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village for your next romantic getaway, family vacation or golf trip to Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Holua Hotel Kailua Kona
Holua Resort Mauna Loa Village
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing