We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very relaxing and a friendly place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Purdy1999
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Upon arrival at the condo, we found this all Misleading and Inaccurate!
We thought it best to send in a review, not to whine and complain, just to forewarn others that may rent this condo, brace your selves.
For further reference, please read reviews on Knutson & Associates and PerfectPlaces.com.
Unfortunately I did not see Perfect Places reviews till after I got home and the review on Knutson & Associates was posted just before I went to Hawaii.

On the condo's website, the only correct info is the info about what is outside of the condo and it does have a partial ocean view.

We arrived late after a long day of travel. We arrived to a condo that was dirty, run down and unkempt. Went to plug in a fan as it was stuffy in the condo (no air conditioner, it has been removed) and it didn't work, tried 2 different sockets to get to work to no avail. Got out my hair dryer to see which was broken...both. We see now see on a previous review that a client had the same problem, which according to Knutson and Assoc. was repaired in early Jan 2015. I guess they were informed about it but didn't actually do the repair.
The webpage says the condo is newly remodeled; perhaps it was done in the 1990's sometime. The furniture is a collection of garage sale castoffs, broken and well worn. It’s probably best not to try open the bi-fold closet doors, they are rusty, broken and will fall on you if you attempt to open them.
When we went to bed and the linens that were claimed to be "high quality linens" were scratchy and poor quality. The pillows do not have pillow slip covers which can be washed for the next guest to have clean pillows to sleep on. The mattress cover is stained.
Kitchen is stocked with a rusty kettle, rusty bowls, broken can opener, no paring knife, a coffee maker that is rusty, corroded and not able to produce hot water. All spoons in drawer appear to have gone thru garbrator . This condo is advertised to be able to sleep four, one would think there would be enough cutlery to allow four people to eat at one time. The cutlery is damaged, rusty, dirty and there are not enough place settings for four. There is one small pot and some very damaged frying pans.
The webpage for this condo, states newly remodeled, not sure when or what. It does have a bathroom vanity and sink, and the fridge and washer/dryer has been changed in the last decade or so. Unfortunately the dryer vent has not been connected to the air outlet ducting which is shared by the suites above and below. Anytime one of these dryers is used, some lint and hot air is spewed back into the suite. As a result many surfaces in the suite are covered by a grimy/linty coating. The fans blades are coated with this grime and over time, clods of it break off and are strewn around the suite.
We contacted Knutson and Assoc. the day after we arrived. We tried to get our money back/find another suite to stay in. Unfortunately by this time, they have your money, no refund of any sort is possible and all other suites are fully booked. Once you pay your money your are stuck. We were assured the suite would be given a "deep clean" and sure enough a cleaning lady did come to the suite later that day, not that anything did noticeably get cleaned. The owner of the suite did come to hand us a set of new sheets for the bed. She went to Target to pick up a new set of "quality sheets" and grumbled as she dropped them off for us to wash and install.
The carpet, is it beige, is it pink, orange, grey, it is dirty or heavily faded, not sure...probably best to keep your outdoor footwear on in this suite, Mahalo!
We spent parts of the first two days cleaning the suite and then decided to get on with our holidays and enjoy the rest of the complex and the island in general.
The Kona Ilse complex is beautiful and well maintained. We loved the pool and the location next to the ocean.
The manager Brian is very helpful and keeps the grounds in wonderful shape.
Also the other vacationers at the complex are very friendly. We met many of the other residents and did see a few of the other condos. Unfortunately, from the sounds of it, the condo we stayed at is one of the worst and is well know by some of the other residents.
This place needs someone to love it, the units that have been taken care of are beautiful!

Just to note we have stayed at other Vrbo's and have used Tripadvisor for reference and have had great success until this unit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kona Isle Complex
Liked least: the condo we stayed in
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewed March 15, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
United States
Reviewed February 17, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Centennial, CO, United States
Reviewed January 31, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madison, WI, United States
Reviewed October 14, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing