We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dolphin swim”

Kona Ocean Adventures
Ranked #6 of 201 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Winner of the 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and now 2017 Trip Advisor Certificate of excellence!. Come Experience the Kona Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii like never before. Private charters are our specialty! With a group tour, Swim with the spinner dolphins, snorkel with the manta rays at night, whale watch (seasonal),scuba dive or with a private charter, customize your water experience with Kona Ocean Adventures. No crowds, no rush, just a safe and exceptional trip for all. Family vacation, a spiritual journey, honeymoon, or simply looking to experience a once in a lifetime adventure, you have come to right place. We now have 3 boats to accommodate various size groups. With over 17 years of experience working the Hawaiian Islands, Captain Danny, Captain Laure and their crew will make your adventure a memorable one. We speak English, French, Japanese and Spanish (simply request a guide for that language if needed on your adventure)
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing dolphin swim”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went out to swim with dolphins with Kona Ocean Adventures and it was the highlight of our honeymoon!! Captain Danny and Denise were great, making everyone feel comfortable and it felt very private being on a boat with just 7 people. Danny was very skilled at dropping us off right in the centre of the pod of dolphins, and we snorkelled right above beautiful dolphins, some mummy dolphins with their babies feeding! The dolphins swam very close to us, and some swam back and forth a couple of times - they obviously liked us! It was genuinely the best day of our trip. The only negative is that we didn't pick up an underwater camera to capture such wow moments!! Danny and Denise also took us to a great hot spot for fish - we swam with gorgeous fish that you pay to see in an aquarium back in England, and even got to see a reef shark up close! Overall - amazing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonhangoglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    25
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dolphins and mantas in one day!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked a day snorkel and manta ray tour with these guys on the basis of the trip advisor reviews here and weren't disappointed! These guys are fantastic, fun, easy going and know their stuff. Small groups (we were super lucky and had the boat to ourselves in the day and almost to ourselves at night!) make for a better experience. We were so lucky to see and swim with dolphins, including little baby ones (skilful captaining by Pono) and spent the evening with 13 mantas! It was just amazing... Can't believe that we saw and experienced all that in just a day!
Lindsey was crewing for both trips and she was super friendly and knowledgeable. Pono and Lindsey turned up the music so we could groove back to port in the day. Andy our captain for the manta tour gave us a great tip off of dinner at Bite Me's on the wharf - the fish tacos were really really good!
Lunch on the snorkel tour was great- we couldn't get enough of the salsa and guacamole and were pretty happy when we scored more salsa to snack on in the evening.
All in all an awesome way to experience the ocean life off Kona. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxed, fun, and smart tour!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was blow away by how much fun this was. Not only were we up close and personal with the manta rays, but our two-lady crew was fun, knowledgable, and exceptionally personable.
I would do the same trip again if I had another day here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobob9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime experiences!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had such amazing trips with kona ocean adventures! We first did the mantaray night dive with captain Andy and diver Tim. We got to come face to face with 12ft mantarays!! We had such an amazing experience we signed up for the dolphin tour two days later. My husband and I have both swam with dolphins before but this was a completely different experience. We were both so amazed about how many dolphins there were, and close and friendly they acted! Kona ocean adventures did an amazing job of keeping the trips small making the experience muh more enjoyable then any water activity we have taken part if. It is a must do!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iriscara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great day On the Water”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our Family 4 adults and 2 children, 8 and 11 had a great day on the water with this tour company. We hired the boat as a private charter for the day. The owner and one of the divemasters joined us. they provided excellent food and snacks, very above par for what you would expect. we swam with the dolphins, snorkeled at captain cooks cove. My daughter and I also dove with the dive master in the cove. I am certified and our daughter did a discovery dive.

great day over all, very organized and well run operation. Very accomodating and Kid friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank love69totravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Ocean Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing