We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Latte with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Java on the Rock - CLOSED

Java on the Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a popular coffeehouse attracting locals and visitors, serving award-winning Kona coffee, incredible espresso drinks and a light breakfast with fresh exotic tropical fruit. Sit with your feet in the sand next to the water watching turtles, reef fish, and spinner dolphins at play. We grow, roast and process our coffee from farm to cup. Free wi-fi and computer available.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Latte with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Java on the Rocks is a great place to come in the morning for a cup of, well, Java! It is a relaxed atmosphere, with tables in the sand, and a view of Kailua Bay that never disappoints! The coffee and lattes are great and there are several food items to order, such as bagels, scrambled egg omlettes, muffins, etc. My two favorites are "The Florentine": eggs with fresh spinach and mozzarella cheese wrapped in a tortilla with salsa on the side (you can also choose a bagel or croissant for $1 extra) and the other favorite is the "Papaya Nest": a fresh papaya filled with yogurt and granola. They also have free wi-fi and have a "cell free" (ringers off) policy, so that you sit back, relax, and enjoy the beauty before you. After all, isn't that what you came to Kona to do?!! Check out their website at www.javaontherock.com

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Owner at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Glad you enjoyed a sublime experience!!
Aloha
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    80
    35
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great way to start your morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Java offer good lattes, wonderful pastries and a nice table right on the ocean. It is a wonderful place to stat your day

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bookworms2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Owner at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks so much for noticing what is so special about Java on the Rock! We are a coffeehouse that serves breakfast and sometimes I'm amazed at how we do so much in a small kitchen. We have a great staff and that helps!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The coffee was only good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Kind of weak and I love kona! Food looked good but I did. It try any, the location is great for people watching

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jtrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Owner at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Aloha
Hmmmmm.... I'm perplexed about you saying the coffee was weak. Java on the Rock is known for its full-bodied brew- meaning on the strong side. We actually have a special technique for brewing that maximizes the release of flavor from the grinds into the water, and on top of that Bruce- the other owner and Brittany our trusted barista are the only ones who brew coffee. I"m not saying accidents can't happen- life is full of them, even with the best of intentions, but I am wondering if perhaps this review was intended for the restaurant that is open in our location in the afternoon. We are open 6-11 am daily and then Huggo's on the Rocks-separate ownership takes over. I'd love to hear back from you if you can clarify- quality is very important to us. Aloha!! Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“breakfast with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

strong Kona coffee . and a nice breakfast snack right on the beach makes for a good way to start the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 40zees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You're in Kona at Java on the Rock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great coffee, good food and entertainment, too on some nights. What's not to like about sitting on the beach in Kona, listening to the waves while eating a deicious meal or drinking coffee. Coffee Rocks!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Manager at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Mahalo nui!! Everyone at the coffeehouse is so dedicated to quality and we appreciate you noticed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java on the Rock also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing