We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Shaved Ice but not the Best”
Review of Da Shave Ice Place

Da Shave Ice Place
Ranked #12 of 17 Dessert in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Good Shaved Ice but not the Best”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went to Da Shave Ice after we had already tried 3 other places on the Big Island. The experience was very good but overall there are two other places we preferred on the island. Those two places are also reviewed on tripadvisor and can be found at prasadandassociates.com - also agree with previous entry that said they need to chill their syrups.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrasadandAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Pa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We went there our last night in the kona area... It was our first shave ice experience and we loved it. Creative combinations, all very good. Hope to be back some day....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puernux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Oh Yes!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A local was at the window and helped me pick out my shave ice--- it had to be the Halo Halo.
The candied fruit at the bottom was yummy as you plunged your spoon through the magnolia taro icecream, the ice, down to the fruits and bubble tapioca at the bottom.
Didn't think I would eat the whole thing.... then wouldn't you know it- it was gone!
Next time on the island, will be sure to make a special trip there if I don't happen by.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBN_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good shave ice, need to chill syrups.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

While portions are smaller than at other shave ice places, the texture of the azuki beans is much smoother and creamier and a snow cap is offered. Just wish they'd chill their syrups, after pouring you end up with a huge crater of missing shave ice on top.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“The Best Shave Ice in Kona”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Even if you live in snow, shoveled it, walk in it, slipped in it, sick of it, it's different when you eat it! Da Shave Ice place in Lanihau Center next to Longs drugs store has the sweetest lady ever who runs it with her two helpers. I order my snow cone with ice cream inside and a snowcap/sugar drizzle on top. They have the best flavors and really sweet service which makes the Shave Ice here taste even better. It's been here forever which is a sign here in Kona that it's that good being that most of these types of business change owners often and eventually fold up.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kona Mazda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Shave Ice Place also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Shave Ice Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing