We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable stay in great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kona Coast Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay in great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

We stayed for one week in December - grandmother, infant son plus mom . The resort was quiet, had great facilities and the furniture and decor and outfitting of the apartment were really comfortable and nice. The housekeeping was the only thing that wasn't so great, not very reliable, if they came at all and they also came at different times (when they came) during the day and they took all the towels but never brought any new ones back without reminding. For us this was minor and didn't diminish the enjoyment of the stay. Highly recommended otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    504
    139
    60
    40
See reviews for
532
635
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
215 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

This was our first experience using a timeshare resort that we booked ourselves (not going along with friends) and I have to say it was an excellent experience. The resort itself is quite large, sits right on the ocean and has a beautiful golf course on the premises. We had a one bedroom, one bathroom condo that was well appointed with modern kitchen appliances (refrigerator, oven, electric cook top, washer & dryer, dishwasher, and even small appliances like a coffee maker, toaster and blender). We were in the older, Phase I and had read warnings that it wasn't great, but our room was just fine. We were dismayed to notice that the walkway up to our condo was lined with plywood, like it was being worked on, however that was really the only "problem"..eh, I can live with that! True, the furniture could have been updated but it was certainly adequate, not threadbare or the least bit ratty, and certainly comfortable enough. Our lanai had a lovely view of the ocean beyond the units, and we had a direct view to a secondary pool and jacuzzi, which was quietly used, sometimes even abandoned. On the lanai itself, we had a full sized table with 6 chairs, and additional chaise lounge and additional cocktail table and chair.

We were told upfront that we would have maid/cleaning service once a week unless we desired it more often, which we didn't. Additionally, we were offered air conditioning for a daily $10-11 fee, and declined it, knowing that we had the option to go back to change our minds should we decide we needed it. We didn't. The temperature was in the low to mid 80's each day, but if you keep the blackout drapes drawn, it keeps the heat out. We were gone nearly all day, everyday, so we we truly did not need the A/C. There was a ceiling fan in both the living room and bedroom, which was adequate. All the rooms were HUGE.

We rented our snorkel equipment directly from the Splash Activity Center for something like $12 dollars per week, per person. No need for fins if you are just doing casual shallow water snorkeling. Very inexpensive and super convenient.

There is a mall directly across the street with a grocery, drug store, a few little restaurants and even a movie theater. On Saturdays that same mall holds a Farmer's Market with local produce and island crafts. Super convenient. There is even a gas station on the back side of that mall.

One of the greatest aspects of this resort is that it is at the tail end of "Resort Row" on Ali'i Drive. If you want to be in the middle of the hubbub, then this resort is not for you. If you want a calmer, quieter atmosphere but with the convenience a mere 7-10 minute drive to the down-town area, then this is for you. The greatest drawback to this resort is that it doesn't have it's own beach.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We stayed here for 3 weeks last January. Although the room itself was very nice, so was the pool area, the service was awful. Cleaning was provided daily, they asked that you reduce it to 2X per week to save the environment. We did this and then the cleaning staff didn't come at all unless we called, then they started coming at dinner time around 5:00 pm! They were reconstructing the entry way and stairs to our block of units, so early every morning for a week there were workers right outside our bedroom window pounding nails talking. There were lots of empty units, they could have moved us, but no.

I did write on their comments page and complain, but they never did really follow up other than to give me the run around about who I should be complaining to.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

This a great place to stay. Make sure you stay in Phase II - the newer villas are located in Phase II.
The staff is very friendly. Guests are also polite and respectful.
This is usually a time share location so the place is well kept and the guests are top notch.
There is a kitchen in the villa (complete with appliances). Washer and Dryer for free use are also located in the villa.
I really enjoyed my time here and will return again in future.
p.s. -It is very close to beaches, restaurants, grocery stores, and a movie theater. Also, there is a restaurant at the location as well as a golf course.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

The staff there were all very friendly. It was our first stay at Kona Coast II. Our 1 bedroom unit has golf course and partial ocean view. It has two baths and lots of room especially there were only two of us. We were on the top floor and the vaulted ceiling made it more spacious. The decor was tropical/ Hawaiian, with palms and pineapple designs. The kitchen had everything we needed for occasional meal preparation.
The balcony was large and the outdoor furniture was comfortable. I spent every morning enjoying my coffee on the balcony before we went off for our island activities.
We brought our laptop and the resort is a hot-spot for AT & T internet service. As other reviewers already mentioned, there is a fee for air conditioning. It was worth the money.
The farmer's market in Kona on Alii Drive had lots of fresh fruit and some veggi. I recommed getting the produce there.
The small white sand beach is about 5-10 minutes away by car. Beautiful....
If you go north to Waimea, check out the local Hawaiian Style Cafe. It serves breakfast and the food is good with big portions!! I highly recommend it. Be aware that they do close early (I think around 1 pm) everyday.
We would stay at Kona Coast II again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed at the Kona Coast Resort for 4 nights. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment on the first floor with a view on the golf course. It was very clean (we had housecleaning every day) and the kitchen was well furnished too. This allowed us to cook meals and save some money during our stay. We loved having breakfast outside on our terrace by the golf course. Exotic birds, colorful flowers and palm trees were our backdrop every morning. The apartment was very roomy and included a dining area and a TV room. The bathroom was very modern with 2 vanities--the shower was huge!
The fee for wireless internet is $9.95/day. Because the resort is surrounded by the golf course, you need to drive out in order to access the beach (a 15-minute walk). The beach is extremely small but definitely the place for good snorkeling. Go there when it opens at 7:00am and you will see sea turtles feeding off the reef.
There is a grocery store across the street from the resort but it is pricy. We recommend going to Safeway (behing Walmart) on Henry street (a 15-minute drive).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9iw7gk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

As I learned, there is quite a difference in quality between Phase I and Phase II of the KCR. In 2006, we stayed in Phase I and had a nice unit that was quiet and had a great view over the golf course and shoreline. The unit where we were placed this time was in Phase I, a much much older not well cared for development. We were placed in unit 10-101 that was just a few yards from the guard shack (entryway). The walkway leading to our room was plywood, and not even painted to attempt to look aesthetically pleasing. In the unit (2 BR), the size was sufficient, but it was quite outdated in style and terribly dark. More importantly, the view from our bedroom window/balcony included a large dumpster. Because of the high cost of electricity on the island, the resort charges additional $ for a/c. As a result, most guests simply open their windows and turn the fan on. We tried this, but the road noise from cars and drunken pedestrians coming and going through all hours of the evening and early morning was terrible. There is a total lack of privacy. Thus, we had to pay for expensive a/c. We complained to management, but this being a holiday week, there were no other units available. In all, the unit was noisy, outdated and had an unpleasant view from our balcony. We would NOT recommend!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 2travelingscientists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
17.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Property: Kona Coast Resort
Address: 78-6842 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing