We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Resort and Huge Rooms”
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kona Coast Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Penrose, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Huge Resort and Huge Rooms”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Kona Coast Resort in a 2 bedroom condo. it was luxurious!

Only disappointing thing is that Check in is at 4pm. Us Aussies are used to 2pm at the latest but apparently in Hawaii 3pm is more the norm but I think 4pm is too late. Sunset was 6.30pm.

This place is huge. You need a map to navigate.

Our condo was only about 100 metres from the main pool and restaurant. We had two huge bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (ensuite with huge spa bath), great kitchen, lounge and balcony. Also laundry facilities included. Three televisions with cable TV options. TV's all inside cupboards which is another new "Hawaiian/US custom" I guess as we experienced this in other places we stayed in Maui and Oahu.

There is no sea views here, which we knew before we booked. I note that some other reviewers were disappointed. I guess they didn't research enough and just booked the resort on name only.

The pool is large although don't be fooled by the virtual tour shots online: that makes the pool look like about 3 acres!!

The "restaurant/cafe/bar" is called Aloha Fridays and was great value with very friendly staff. We ate here 2 nights.Very relaxed. Great views to the ocean across the golf course.

The resort appears well managed, very clean, good security and ground staff are always friendly.

This is a time share resort. If you sign up to a 90 minute information session, you receive a discount card that enables you to buy all activities at about half price and get a $50 credit as well! We declined because it would be a waste of time for us but personally I don't need the "hard sell" while on vacation.

While very pleased with the resort, if we venture to the Big Island again, we would stay in Kona itself. A good looking little town that would give you more variety in eating and entertainment. You have to drive from the resort to Kona, too far to walk.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on Luau. Went to Royal Kona Resort: show OK but "open bar" is only f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Bleask2871,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor followers! I am glad that you enjoyed the spacious villa and many Resort amentities available to you at Kona Coast Resort. As a seasoned traveller you shared excellent Resort specific and Big Island information that will help us to exceed the expectations of our future guests. We hope you include KCR and Aloha Fridays restaurant on your next Big Island itinerary.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    514
    141
    61
    41
See reviews for
545
657
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were welcomed warmly at check in and were pleased that our unit was ready despite us arriving a bit early. The suite was spacious and clean with lovely furnishings and a great view of the ocean from the large lanai. The only complaint we had was regarding the pool adjacent to our unit. We were advised upon check in that the upper pool was "Adults Only".....which we greatly appreciated. The signage at the pool indicated that no children under 14 were allowed. Despite that, the first evening we were sitting on the lanai, the squeals and splashing of kids in the pool was hard to ignore. The next morning as we ate breakfast on the lanai....same thing, We spoke to the front desk and were advised to call the next time kids were in the pool and they would send security...which we did the next afternoon. The security guard came to the pool but stood back and observed without saying anything to the supervising adults. Eventually the kids left with their adults.....we did not see the security guard intervene at all. The final day of our stay as we lay by the Adults Only pool, a small toddler still in diapers was in the pool. It seemed that she was with a lady who was not a guest of the resort at all but rather was with one of the local painting crew working on the building beside the pool. When we checked out, we spoke to the front desk gal about this again and she said "kids are allowed as long as they are quiet". We said we were advised to the contrary and the signage at the pool confirms that. She said "really...hmmm". It seemed that there was a lack of understanding of the resort's rules and regulations by their own staff and security was reluctant to enforce the rules. Otherwise our stay was pleasant but as travellers without kids, we were very much looking forward to the quiet of an Adults Only pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Mahalo Nancy, for taking the time to review the Kona Coast Resort for our TripAdvisor friends. The experiences that you share provide invaluable information to our Management team, especially when they illustrate a gap in training that is easy to fix. Your comments about the mis-communication at the Maluhia pool are a perfect example of this. While we cannot prevent children from using the "quiet pool" we can ensure that none under the age of 14 are there without adult supervision and we can take action when a noise complaint is made. As a result of your comments we were able to improve Security's schedule for inspection of that pool and also able to implement a better procedure for identifying and removing trespassers. I hope that upon your return you will find quiet and relaxing enjoyment at the Maluhia pool.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very big appartments with a big veranda. Rooms are very clean. Staff is very friendly. Free WIFI and parking. Supermarket is around the corner. 2 pools ( one just for adults). Unfortunatley, there is no direct beach access but you will hardly find a hotel which has one in Kona. But a few driving minutes away you can access the beach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Kathi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Great! vacation with our TripAdvisor followers. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the large villa and lanai and that you found the location of the Resort to be convenient. You are absolutely right when you shared that most Bid Island properties are not oceanfront. I hope that you did find a comfortable spot here at the Resort to enjoy the beautiful ocean views and colorful sunsets and that you will return to KCR in the future.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a fantastic experience here which may not be representative of others. Our check in was delayed by an hour, upsetting us a bit, but then they put us up in what they call their penthouse. It is actually the model that they used when selling units. It was two master bedrooms, beautifully decorated and a 30 foot long lanai with six person dining table and wicker easy chairs. We did look at a regular unit and it was also very spacious and well decorated. The grounds are very well maintained and there are two pools, three hot tubs and a poolside restaurant on the property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Aloha from Kona Coast Resort,

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your KCR experience with our TripAdvisor followers. Having a direct line to our guests has proven an invaluable evaluation and training tool for our Management team. It is good to hear that you were pleased with the Resort and especially the Penthouse villa. I love that lanai for family game night. We hope you'll plan to stay with us during your next visit to the Big Island, we are working hard to improve the check-in process on busy arrival days so that delays can be eliminated.

Aloha no,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great location to be near downtown, explore nearby "locals" beaches, restaurants. Resort "Phase II" units appear more modern in furnishings & unit ammenities. Nice large lanai with lounge chair & table/chairs. We loved our unit with ocean views near the lower pool by the on-property restaurant. Pool water very comfortable, nice hot tub & great to have a restaurant that serves B,L,D with happy hour/pupu offerings so you don't have to go out to restaurants every night. Food was good and they have entertainment in the evening; also an artist near the pool selling his artwork was very nice. All staff on property & restaurant very pleasant. Golf course that runs next to property was closed but we understand it will open up again soon; looks very nice and we would have loved to play golf there. We loved the quiet grounds. Also had a nice equipment rental store on property if you wanted for visiting local beaches. Reliable Wiifii too.
Just a few tweeks they need to address. Wish these units would be more accommodating with laundry soap; they provide 2 small packets. With 4 people and unit doesn't provide lots of towels, we had to ask for more packets and they charged $1.50 ea. (really .... since we also washed their towels???) Mid-week service provided since we traded our timeshare to stay here, but extra soaps & shampoo not replenished.
One bedroom, two bath unit good for 4 people, but those using the sofabed in the living room have no space to unpack their personal belongings; need drawer space more than 3 tiny drawers!!
A/C costs extra. We opted out because we don't need "cold" rooms; however our unit didn't get ocean breezes and it got stuffy some evenings. We just turned the fans overhead on high and left all windows open which helped a lot. If you like it colder at night, pay the little extra for A/C.

Room Tip: See my comment on A/C. Location near Activities Center and pool closer to the ocean seems to be nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
A BIG MAHALO......for taking the time to share your Kona Coast Resort experience with our TripAdvisor followers! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the Resort and all of the Resort amenities like your private lanai, SeaShell pointe pool, Aloha Fridays restaurant and our Splash! gift shop. If providing a few additional complimentary amenities is all we have to do to give you an excellent Resort experience you can count on us to do so during your next visit. It's just a shame the Yorkies won't be travelling with you.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The best aspect of this resort is the location - 10 minutes from downtown, 20 minutes from the airport. The resort is a little older, but clean and well-maintained. There is no beach at the resort, but plenty of beaches in relatively short driving distance. There aren't too many actual activities to do at the resort (with some of the few activities being cancelled while we were there), but that wasn't our reason for being in Hawaii. The main pool pales in comparison to many resort pools built recently, but again, not why we were there. When on the Big Island again, we would not hesitate to return to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Adam,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Kona Coast Resort following your recent visit. We pride ourselves on providing the kind of vacation experience our guest's expect, be it a great location where you can easily explore what that the Big Island has to offer, or be it a beautiful, comfortable destination where you can unwind and relax. We hope you'll return to continue exploring, they don't call it the Big Island for nothing--it's hard to see it all on your initial visit.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
Assistant Resort Manager
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Kona Coast Resort is an ideal location in Keahou on Ali'i Drive. It is a nice resort for a mature but active crowd. We are timeshare owners so we have stayed here twice and the service and staff is very friendly and professional. This resort affords villa style accommodations with full kitchens and large lanai. You will pay nominal extra for air conditioning and all parking is self parking. The resort is older and in some ways a bit dated but it is comfortable. Recommend third level units for less noise but it's walk up only and no elevators. This resort offers a quiet pool and spa low noise level, no kids. The main pool is a little larger and does offer mechanical assistance for the pool and spa for those that need it. Families with children generally use this pool. Both pools have very clean bathroom facilities, the grounds are kept up very well. This resort has quiet hours as well so it is a very quiet property and ideal for couples or those wanting a serene, relaxing experience. The on site Splash store and beach rentals offers rentals by the week and loans out sporting equipment for basketball, volleyball, tennis among other amenities. Great barbecue locations throughout with raised beds with herbs guest can use for cooking. The onsite restaurant and bar offers a good value menu, take out and great array of drinks and live music. There is no beach access from this resort and plenty of activities for adults. Easy driving distance into Kailua-Kona for dining and shopping options. Shopping center and Sam Choy's very close.

Room Tip: Building 20 afforded peek ocean views, faces parking lot so high floor is better if you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Heather,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Kona Coast Resort experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased that the villa, grounds and service at the Resort, as well as the convenient location, contributed to a memorable Big Island Vacation. We look forward to a future visit. There are several improvements underway at the Resort and we can't wait to share them with you,

With aloha,

Rhonda Brown
Assistant Resort Manager
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
17.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Property: Kona Coast Resort
Address: 78-6842 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing