We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kona Coast, minus the Coast”
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kona Coast Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I haven't been able to figure out why they called it the "Kona Coast" Resort. There is no coast. It's cut off from the coast, in fact, by a lovely golf course. Fortunately enough for me, when I travelled here in March 2012, the golf course was closed and we could waltz right across it to the blowhole located right on the water's edge. I don't know if the golf course is still closed at this point, but if you want some free golf, consider this place. There were a few people teeing off just for the heck of it and practising putting. My personal two upsides to this place were the sofa-bed and the wildlife. I like a hotel where I can actually fall asleep on the sofa-bed, and this was one of those rare places.

The wildlife was beautiful. Birds everywhere, and I mean everywhere! Watch your breakfast or they will be enjoying it.

Staff are friendly and helpful, and didn't hesitate to help me locate a missing piece of electronics.

Room Tip: Since you can't actually get to the ocean, confirm that you at least have a view of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hi Colin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some information regarding the area for future guests. We are so glad you enjoyed the wildlife during your stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our resort service. We will share this with our staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Perhaps it was just our suite. Multiple ceramic tiles were broken and loose in the kitchen. The place had obviously been built in the 70's and the kitchen counters were tiled with that greenish gray fired tile. But rather than replace them they just painted over them with white paint that was peeling off in places. The same treatment had been done to the cabinets and the tiles in the entry way. In numerous places the paint had come off the cabinets. Other than those things the suite was clean and spacious and nicely furnished and decorated. The property was clean and had easy access off the main road. Views were beautiful. The "restaurant" was my other disappointment. It was really a snack bar with mainly bar food. There were 8-10 tables and one server who spent most of her time eating behind the galley area and texting on her phone. Tables were dirty and not bussed quickly. I'd avoid the place and go down the road to eat. It was good value for the money (except for the restaurant) and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. But it didn't wow me,

Room Tip: Get rooms away from the recreation center/restaurant. They have live music and it may keep you awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falconfixer86261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this property in late July 2013 for 16 days. The 1st half of the stay in phase 2 and the 2nd half in phase 1. The resort was nice with nicely decorated rooms. We were on the 2nd floor in phase 2 with a nice terrace which had a table, 4 chairs and a lounger. The kitchen was well equipped although missing a few items which were brought quickly upon request. The washer dryer unit broke on the first wash and upon notifying the resort, maintenance responded within an hour and we had to wait one day and a new unit was installed. The master bedroom had a king bed and was large enough with a dresser, two end tables and flat screen TV. Bedroom two had two full size beds and a TV and the living room had a couch, chair and flat screenTV.
Phase 1 was a ground floor unit with a walk out patio. It had 2 lounge chairs and a table and 4 chairs looking out at the golf course. The room was also very nice and larger than phase 2. The furniture was slightly more dated, however still nice enough. The master bedroom had a king bed and was also larger than phase 2. The second bedroom had only one queen bed which was slightly inconvenient but manageable. The kitchen was well equipped but slightly more dated than phase 2.
My only complaint with this resort was the pool. The main pool was nice but much too small for the size of the resort. There were not enough chairs to accommodate everyone. There was a second pool (the quiet pool) that was significantly smaller with only 8 or 10 loungers. The resort should really have another large pool to accommodate all their guests.
Overall the resort was very nice and very well maintained. The location was excellent and easy to get to all restaurants and shopping. I would probably stay at this resort again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed the unit accommodations during your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the size of the pool and number of loungers. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback will help us to do so. We hope you come back to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this resort basically because my friends and I wanted to enjoy the Kona coast without investing too much. This was a very good deal.
The apartment was huge: 2 bed rooms with king size beds, a well furnished kitchen with all needed amenities and an incredible living room with comfy couches. The terrace is very large too and allowed us to enjoy breakfasts and also have some drinks at night.
Outside, there are people making barbecues in the evening, creating a nice atmosphere.
Several swimming pools and jacuzzi are also available, which is very pleasant after a hike of discovery day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avulliote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed the unit accommodations and resort amenities. We hope you come back to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked a villa which was quite large, bedroom, kitchen and living room. Washing machine, dryer were a huge plus. Everything was ok, a little worn down, and a smell, but still ok considering the price for 8 nights, around $1'000.--. The villa's terrace and direct access to the garden is a nice touch. Unfortunately, the neighbors in the room above our villa were very loud (footstep, yelling...), but this situation lasted only 3 days. The rest of the time, it was ok, but you could still hear some sort of noise coming from above. This resort offers many possibilities such as tennis, pools (one of which is a quite pool, definitely a good thing to relax), golf, restaurant, customer service etc. Good value for money, would need a complete renovation, is a little old.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian Appel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hi Christian,

Thank you for providing such great feedback. We are sorry to hear you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with loud noise from the neighbors. We appreciate the suggestion regarding the unit renovations. Please know we are always looking for ways to improve our property and your feedback will help us to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in the Kona Coast Hotel while we attended the Ironman and we rented the one bedroom villa. The resort is quite large and the villas are very nice and spacious. Very clean and very quiet. This hotel is out of the 'Ironman Zone' so you can relax before the race.....you can also get around on the day of the Ironman. Lots of kitchen supplies that you would need to cook your own meals & lots of parking. Our villa overlooked the golf course. The only issue is that there is no beach but that wasn't our focus for the week. There is an adult pool & a family pool. The reception was extremely helpful & friendly (Tara). We did have two issues:
1. The Internet didn't always work....slow sometimes but this was sporadic.
2. The cleaning staff were supposed to come in once in 5 days but didn't show on the times they said they would be there. I finally had to call to get them to come in.
Overall, I would recommend and I would stay there again....

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask to overlook the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italian-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback including some helpful tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the unit and resort accommodations. We apologize for the issue you encountered regarding the Wi-Fi and housekeeping, but glad that management was able to resolve this concern for you. As you know we have many units which house a large number of guests and their wireless devices. We are working to better the wireless connection at our resorts but this process will take some time. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Kona Coast Resort is all things wonderful. We hae stayed here twice. Each time was great. When we arrived we asked for a downstairs unit and received one. The units are large. Really, it's more like an apartment. The beds seem a little hard at first but I was used to it on the first night. The kitchen's a workable size. The living room is big. This location is not near Kailua-Kona touristy restaurants and shops but that's what I like... It's quiet! Wonderful place. The exercise room is really under stocked - very little equipment and the reason there's not an excellent rating on this review. But, what that leads to is taking some wonderful walks in the area. Some restaurants nearby. Rental car pretty much required. Have fun. Great place to kick back and recharge.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for providing such great feedback including area location information. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and overall stay. In regards to the exercise room, we will do our best to utilize your feedback for future guests. We hope you come back to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,959 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
3.3 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Address: 78-6842 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $157 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing