We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Blintzes”
Review of Basik Acai

Basik Acai
Ranked #15 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
holualoa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than Blintzes”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nothing will start your day off better than an acai bowl. Basik staff is very patient while you ponder all of the possibilities of flavors. Can't go wrong with any if their delicious concoctions. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalindabHolualoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    91
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delicious & Healthy!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I have been having an acai bowl for breakfast each day of our trip to Kailua-Kona. These bowls are delicious, filled with healthy ingredients and a great way to start the day.

I have a couple of allerigies and they are willing and able to accommodate by adjusing - removing or adding anything I wanted.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strawberrykiwijello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerman, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“An interesting and yummy change from basic breakfast”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was great. Except for the lack of coffee-go next door to Hugos on the Rocks for some awesome coffee before taking the stairs to this place (it is above a snorkel shop between Hugos and Royal Kona and has a small seating area up and downstairs). They have a list of like 8 different acai bowls and as many smoothies to choose from. I got one small one of each. The smoothies are essentially a smoothie version of the bowls. Both are great. The smoothies are great, especially if you are on your way somewhere and need it to-go. The bowls come in small and gigantic. Get the small unless you are starving-what I had filled me up. So what the heck IS an acai bowl? Think a whipped acai berry and hemp milk (or soy, rice ect) sorbet with granola and dried fruit, peanut butter, carob and/or honey. It was like eating a dessert. You can get all kinds of add-ons like Spirulina and bee pollen. Yes, that sounds all earthy crunchy, and it is. But it is also delicious and fresh and original and pretty darn cheap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serval_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Healthy breakfasts; friendly staff”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Basic Acai is right behind the Royal Kona Hotel; it is above the scuba rental shop; really cool little place with staff who are friendly and give the small place a fun, warm atmosphere. The food is tasty, healthy and reasonably priced. A 'must-visit' restaurant on our return to Kailua-Kona.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SocialTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh, fruity and delicious!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is kind of hidden away near a large resort just off the Alii Drive. We are so grateful for Trip Advisor for introducing us to Basik Acai! The breakfast bowls are unbelievably good, full of tasty ingredients - my boyfriend and I have been for two mornings in a row for breakfast and will be returning before our time in Kona is up. The setting is great, a cool little place with friendly staff and a view over the ocean. Don't forget to look up at the ceiling - the photography is amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy_Kayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basik Acai also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Basik Acai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing