We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kailua Volcano tour +ipad”

Hawaii Outdoor Guides
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Big Island Dry Forest Preserve Visit
More Info
$103.12*
and up
Early Bird Volcano Express
More Info
$103.12*
and up
Lava Glow Volcano Express: Highlights of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park with...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer the Big Island’s best guided nature and sightseeing tours for small groups. Sure, there are larger tour companies on Hawai’i Island, but none offer the level of care and customization that we can provide. We have access to the best places at the best times. We are an insured and permitted tour operator and a member of the Hawaii Visitors and Convention Bureau. Don't settle for less! Day Tours: Small-Group Volcano Tour Active Lava Flow Hike Tour (if active and accessible) Mamalahoa Circle Island Tour Hilo Hot Steam Volcano Tour Small-Group Waterfall Tour Waikoloa Dry Forest Tour Kilauea Iki Trail Hike Multiday Tours Thank you for your interest and we hope to see you soon on one of our tours. Warmest Aloha and Mahalo Hawaii Outdoor Guides
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a fantastic way to see this corner of the island. Do not even entertain the thought of planning your own driving tour, these guys take you to the best places and tell you background stories that make for a memorable holiday experience.
We did the Volcano Tour + ipad and had an amazing day. Dominic our guide was great, he had a thorough understanding of the island culture and the significant sights which he shared with us through the whole day. The iPads added the extra depth of understanding to each place we visited so it allowed us to take in what we stopped to look at along the way without going into information overload. We found it very hard to say what was the highlight of the tour because for us all the places we visited were AWESOME!!!! But for me when Dominic played the nose flute in the Thurston Lava Tube I had goosebumps, that was special.
Remember to wear good walking shoes, pack a spray jacket and wear layers of clothing as the weather changes all the time!! Be prepared for a long day, but you will enjoy every minute of it.
Thank you Dominic for a great day.

1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Outdoor Office Crew at Hawaii Outdoor Guides, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha Peter!

I am so happy that Dominik showed you such a great day around the island! I think the nose flute in the lava tube is great too! Come back soon and see us.

Warmest Aloha,

Katie
Hawaii Outdoor Guides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 416 of 479 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We did the Volcano Tour + Ipad offered by the company and thoroughly enjoyed the entire day. It was a long day that stared at 9 a.m. with a pickup from our resort and ended at 10 p.m. but we saw so much and took so many pictures, it was an amazing day. We started the day with a brief tour from the van of downtown Kailua-Kona and our guide, Katie, pointed out several sites along the way. We next visited the Greenwell Coffee Farm and had a great tour of the farm and how coffee is made from start to finish. At the coffee farm, we enjoyed a mid-morning snack while our tour guide serenaded us with her ukulele. That definitely added to the overall experience of the day. As we made our way to the Volcano Park, we stopped to take pictures of the Southernmost point in the US, other scenic views, and also stopped at the black sand beach to eat lunch and take more pictures. Once we made it to the Park, we did a 1.5-2 mile hike of the crater rim trail and saw spectacular views of the crater, we drove down to the water and Katie pointed out the various forms of lava flows as well as other interesting facts throughout, we walked through the Thurston Lava Tube (around a 1/2 mile walk) and lastly ate dinner and then saw the volcano at night where we took various pictures of the smoking crater. When planning the trip the last few months, we had originally considered staying in Volcano and doing our own tour of the park, but we would have missed out on so much of the facts and various stories that only local guides can share. We loved this excursion and thought it was well worth the time and money for the expertise that Hawaii Outdoor Guides provided.

2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Outdoor Office Crew at Hawaii Outdoor Guides, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha Laura,

Thank you for the great review! This tour is a great way to see a lot of sites for the island and a highlight of many of our guests. Having happy guests is a priority of our so I am very happy that you had a great day!

Warmest Aloha,

Katie
Hawaii Outdoor Guides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I took a one week tour with Hawaii outdoor guides.
We were a group of 23 people, all between 19 and 24 years old.
It was an amazing trip, with great tour guides and a lot of fun and unforgettable memories.
The Camping sites we went to were great, good equipment, whenever one has a question or needs help, the guides are there for you. They were a lot of fun to be around! We did snorkeling in the best spots and saw turtles and dolphins. The hiking trips we did were truly amazing- great valleys where no one lives, lava at night, the volcano crater, green sand beach.
I loved this week on Hawaii and the Hawaii Outdoor Guides made this trip a great experience and the best vacation I ever had. Thank you so much, I will never forget it !

Thank Judith993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Outdoor Office Crew at Hawaii Outdoor Guides, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha Judith,

Thank you for the great review! These week long tours are amazing and it was great to meet you. Snorkeling, boogie boarding, hiking and viewing the lava are highlights for me too. I hope you are able to make it back to Hawaii again and see us!

Warmest Aloha,

Katie
Hawaii Outdoor Guides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had an amazing week! We could see the most importants places of the island. I really would like to go back and I reccomend the Outdoor Guides!

Thank reginborges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Outdoor Office Crew at Hawaii Outdoor Guides, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha Regina!

Thanks for your review! I had a great time with you and the rest of the group for a week around the island. These week long tours are a lot of fun and it is great that you had an amazing week as well. Come back and see us again!

Warmest Aloha,

Katie
Hawaii Outdoor Guides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well worth the price for a full day adventure. For me the black sand beach and Volcano National Park was by far the highlight. However, you make other stops along the way that create their own memories. Our guide "Betsy" was absolutely fantastic, very professional and helpful. This is not a trip for the lazy or low energy. Your time is well managed and there is alot to see in the 12+ hour tour. I didn't see it listed on the website but you do get to hike in to the rain forest and through the Thurston lave tube. If you drive down to Kona to meet up, you will park next to a library and there is a neat outdoor craft market.

Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Outdoor Office Crew at Hawaii Outdoor Guides, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha Ken!

Thank you for the great review for your Volcano Tour + iPad tour. Thank you for pointing out the great value for the tour and the highlights of the tour for you. Judging by you pictures it looks like you really had a great day. We are adding the information that you mention as not being on the website so that the tour is better represented to our guests. Thank you for the comment. Come back and be our guest soon!

Warmest Aloha,

Katie
Hawaii Outdoor Guides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Outdoor Guides also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Outdoor Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing