We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family favourite”

Scandinavian Shave Ice
Ranked #1 of 19 Dessert in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family favourite”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The kids had a great time here. It is a proper shop in the otherwise rather cheesy and ersatz Kona main drag.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crossbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    154
    31
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I can't believe how many times I've past this place when I've been in Kona! The shop is funky, cool, and very frequented by the locals as well as tourists. I got a keiki sized shave ice with a scoop of ice cream in the middle. I would highly recommend the ice cream addition-it makes for a nice balance between crunchy and creamy. Beware of the sizes here-the keiki is the size of a grapefruit, small the size of two grapefruits and the large about the size of a soccer ball-no joke. The shave ice wizards at Scandinavian are awesome and really funny as well. Shave ice is the perfect way to break up your day in Kona, cool off, and make sure and take your photo with the wooden shave ice signs outside the store!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ice Heaven”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

After a day at the beach our kids couldn't wait to get here. From rainbow to coconut it was all fabulous and worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank Andwill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
214 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Sending a shaka for this shave ice”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Excellent selection of flavors for shave ice. Who knew you could have that many flavors hiding in this tiny spot!?! Tight quarters and they can get a line but they move fast. Some other reviews thought they were too expensive, but it's all about perspective. On the beach, waves crashing over the break wall. $3.50 for a small, I thought that was fair. Very friendly staff who really know what they are doing.

Helpful?
Thank NewbieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Yum! :)”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Delicious and huge! I got a "small" shaved ice for $3.50. I thought it was pretty large for a small. They pack it nicely so that it's round. They are also generous with syrup.

I would definitely go here again!

Out of curiosity, I asked how large the jumbo was ($20). I was told that it's 10 pounds!!!! Wow!

They also have sugar free flavors!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandinavian Shave Ice also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Scandinavian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing