We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much better than a snow cone!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandinavian Shave Ice

Scandinavian Shave Ice
Ranked #1 of 19 Dessert in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So much better than a snow cone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I couldn't believe how good shave ice could be - but the line coming out the door at all hours tells its own tale. We got clued into the "ice cream in the center" option - and I highly recommend the vanilla. It's not just any vanilla - it's the gorilla of vanilla! It's got some much rich vanilla-y goodness that it's actually beige. The shave ice guys are so happy and personable... you can't possibly have a bad day when you're getting Scandanavian Shave Ice!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gigi_Napoleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    149
    30
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Great shaved ice! Best I've had. Great service with positive attitudes. Went there three times during our 1 week stay.

Try the LAVA FLOW with the ice cap and strawberry ice cream in the middle.... It's AWESOME!

Helpful?
Thank MeAndtheFamRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good shave ice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had shave ice here with family. Great, super friendly service. Ice was very smooth, unlike the ones we've had in Oahu and Maui. Alas, they ran out of adzuki bean. Oh well, you can have choice of ice creams and other toppings (try the popping pearls/bubbles). But, unlike another reviewer, I don't think they are as good as that famous place in Oahu (Matsumoto's I believe).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Good taste, the rainbow one has a pretty look. Kind servant, can add more syrup if u need. I think it's better than that famous shaved-iced shop in Oahu(I can't remember its name)

Helpful?
Thank cznick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sweet treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our daughter LOVED this place! During our 10 day visit to Kona we were here every day. Maybe a little much but to a 10 year old this made her vacation a little more fun to be able to look forward to this treat after a day in the sun! The staff were all very friendly and it was fun to watch as they made the colourful creations for the customers!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandinavian Shave Ice also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Scandinavian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing