We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Shaved Ice Ever”

Scandinavian Shave Ice
Ranked #1 of 19 Dessert in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best Shaved Ice Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Not only is it the best, but you also get a lot in the kids (keiki) size for only $3. We went 4 times, trying all kinds of different tropical flavors. Great staff that move quickly and are awesome with kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    151
    31
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Shaved Ice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have tried shaved ice on Oahu and Kauai and this is not the best I ever had, but it is the best in the area. The prices are good and the portions are generous. It is good for an afternoon refresher.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheapasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Located in the nice area in walking distance from the hotel we stayed. Place have a lot of different flavors to choose from. Worth the visit

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You HAVE to stop here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The only downside to discovering this place as how bummed we were that we hadn't visited earlier in the week! We would've come here everyday! It's by FAR the best shaved ice/snow cones I've ever had. The staff is super friendly, and it makes for a great night sitting by the ocean and eating shaved ice. Do yourself a favor and visit this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHolt4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent place to cool off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

While in Hawaii, of course we had to try the signature shaved ice so we went to this place. I ordered a medium and it was HUGE. More flavors than you could ever want. Overall, a great place to cool off with some shaved ice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bartpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandinavian Shave Ice also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Scandinavian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing