We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go-to place for morning smoothies”
Review of Buns in the Sun - CLOSED

Buns in the Sun
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go-to place for morning smoothies”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I go here for breakfast when I'm in Kona on business. I really like the smoothies, especially the Dawn Patrol. They make good breakfast sandwiches, lunch sandwiches, and baked goods.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    15
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was to meet a friend at this restaurant but had a little trouble finding the strip mall where it is located as I was on a parallel road to the main entrance. Luckily the friendly people of Kona assisted me in finding the restaurant. I had a fantastic breakfast at a very reasonable price. They also have a bakery there, where many wonderful things were located. I wanted to get back there and try a few but never had the opportunity before I left the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was very good”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Assortment of specialty breads (pumpkin, banana) was excellent. We also had breakfast there. It was unusually good too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TazBolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“casual take-out or sit outside”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fresh food, sandwiches come w/bag of chips & potato salad or cole slaw (very small sides). Nothing special about the Kahlua pork bbq sandwich. Other sandwiches we saw people eating look really better. Coupon available on their website.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The menu had a nice variety of items and the prices were very reasonable. We had 3 different things and they were all yummy. It is a grab and go kind of place but there are a few seats to sit down in, if you have time. The egg dishes were fresh and hot and the staff was friendly and helpful. Thinking of going again before we leave the island.

Helpful?
Thank Hoodone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buns in the Sun also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing