We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite fast food stop on the island.”

L&L Hawaiian Barbecue
Ranked #72 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Fast Food, Barbecue, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Keauhou Shopping Ctr. location, not the one on Palani Dr.
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Our favorite fast food stop on the island.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

L&L BBQs are a great place to get local fast food at a good price. Our first morning on the island we stopped in for breakfast and fell in love. We ended up going back several times and trying all types of different things on the menu. One of my favorites was the ramen style noodle soup. Good food at good prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    77
    39
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“a local BBQ diner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I wanted to try the restaurant where the locals go to eat BBQ. L&L is the place, however, we would not recommend it. Too greasy, styrofoam containers, and the BBQ was just okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SedonaMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Okay but not one of our favorites”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I needed to eat a quick dinner before seeing a movie. This location just happened to be in the same shopping center as the theater so we decided to try it. The menu is huge and ranges from hamburgers to Asian to more traditional Hawaiian fare. There were many people eating in the restaurant and just as many picking up take out. The food reminded us of low end Asian take-out, not bad but we probably won’t eat at this establishment again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Local Greasy Spoon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This chain serve heavily oiled carbohydrates and is a fast food Asian cafeteria style place - take out only. Great is you want the local working class experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamerRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique L&L”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

L&L in Hawaii so unique and more food on the menu list that you can imagine and more local Hawaiian food that you can name it. At the first, we think why L&L since we had L&L at our hometown but surprise and surprise again that the food so different and fresh and we glad did.
Please try and try and you'll surprise with and I definitely will eat at L&L in Hawaii again.....someday

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jalan2lagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L&L Hawaiian Barbecue also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to L&L Hawaiian Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing