We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great nature hike”
Review of Kiholo Bay

Kiholo Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.66*
and up
Reef and Dolphin Snorkel Eco Adventure
Ranked #22 of 129 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great nature hike”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We parked in the lot north of the guard rail just south of the 81 mile marker. Get there early morning because parking is limited. This a a great hike on a gravel road & rocky trail. The trail isn't well marked so know what direction you need to go. Once you get to the shore head north to the bay. We saw sea turtles on the beach & whales breaching. We saw more wild life on this free hike than the whale watching excursion we did later in the week. Will definitely do this hike again.

Helpful?
5 Thank jcaeiouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    68
    17
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Snorkel heaven.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was a great place to snorkel, but we weren't prepared for the cuts and scrapes from all the rocks....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Grhauffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Turtles!!! 10 of them!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the only beach we saw Turtles on our 10 day trip. This was a treat. If you take the road in your on one end of the bay. If you take the short walk in, your on the north end

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
221 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“unique and beautiful”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Back in the day when I had hair, we hiked across the lava in our flip flops to get to this place….thankfully now there is a reasonably good road between mile 82 and 83 mile marker that will take you close to the shore – but you can still take the trail at mile marker 81 if you like. You will want to hike along the length of the bay and explore the area – lots of black pebble “almost sand” beach, black sand beach and salt and pepper beach mixed in with the lava rock shore. There are a lot more people visiting now than in the prehistory, but you will not feel crowded in any way. Take lots of water.
This is a fabulous place to explore, especially if you have kids. There are a lot of fresh water springs that flow though the gravel and lava into the bay making for some very interesting snorkeling – if nobody has been in before you, and if you avoid the belly flop approach, you may find what almost looks like a pane of glass separating fresh and salt water. Along the way, you will find a multitude of “sand tubs” along the beach where the fresh water bubbles into the bay…very refreshing after a hike in the sun. There seem to be a lot of turtles and birders may be lucky as well – we saw a northern mockingbird and a kioea (bristle-thighed curlew) along with frolicking francolin and other common birds.
There are some interesting homes along the beach ranging from “shacks” with wonderful collections of flotsam, to multimillion dollar Mcmansions. There is even a house that looks like it was flown in from Thailand or an exotic island.
To end your hike on a hot day, save yourself for the “Queens Bath” – a lava tube open to the sky with fresh water flowing in it. There is a slippery ladder down into the water and the water level rises and falls with the tide. If you have a waterproof flash light bring it…you will want to explore back into the dark recess of the tube. We were told there are petroglyphs on the wall but we did not find them. Please – if you go in the water rinse the oily sunscreen off in the ocean first…the water flow in this place is minimal and there was a floating sheen from the guy who was in before me…not at all appetizing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank DudefrmAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breathtaking black sand beach”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We drove down the "road" without 4 wheel drive twice. No problem. Beach is stunning and not crowded. The service at the Starbucks was a little slow -- just kidding there is no Starbucks and for the most part few people except some campers. No sea glass to be found but gorgeous polished coral stones of all shapes and sizes. Sent a box full back using the USPO boxes. .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Legalbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiholo Bay also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kiholo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing