We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kailua-Kona
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Family owned and operated.

I picked up a number of flyers, cards, and read online. Walking down the road I saw these guys... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 1 week ago
Surf225
,
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Really invest time and effort

My sister and I have never set foot on a surf board before when we booked a class with HLSI. The... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Xenia4492
,
Zurich, Switzerland
Read all 220 reviews
  
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
211
6
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
211
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lesson hour lesson group lesson classroom session friendly instructors family owned and operated business these guys excellent instruction riding waves dry land learn how captain rick the big island a lot of fun awesome experience super fun highlight of our trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 220 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2019

They did a great job teaching our 6 year old how to surf. Patient and friendly instructors and small make it the perfect spot for kids to get up on the board and get some confidence without getting pummeled.

Date of experience: July 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank ChrisBrown500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLSI, General Manager at Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Mahalo for trusting us with your 6 year old! Very glad to hear you guys enjoyed the surf memories made with our 'ohana at HLSI.
Thank again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

Over the past 7 years, we've surfed with HLSI many times. Just in the past two weeks, we surfed with them twice. Jon and Jake and Tiffani were our instructors and the most incredible people to work with. They are a family business and know the island waters like no one else. Their teaching style is adapted to all ages and skill levels. My kids and I love them all! We have surfed in many places in the US; they are by far our favorite instructors in an extraordinarily beautiful location. We can't wait to return. Please look no further for surf instructors while in Kona!! HLSI is the jackpot!

Date of experience: June 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank surflove_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihani12305, General Manager at Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Mahalo for such a kind review! We appreciate our customers and it means so much to see families and people return to us each time they get back to Hawaii Island. It is a truly heartfelt Mahalo (thank you) we send to you for entrusting your family and loved ones with us time after time again and including us in your island memories made here in Hawaii.

Aloha from our 'ohana to yours, until next time.
Take Care,

Team HLSI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019

My 11 year old son loved it. He was up and riding waves immediately. His instructor, John, was super patient and supportive and fun to talk to during lulls. The classroom lesson prior to getting into the water was broken down into the simplest and easiest terms that should suit almost anyone. Kahalu'u Beach Park has a relatively protected paddle out zone, which makes it a great place to learn (easy to get in and out of the water; easy to paddle out; smaller, easier beginner waves on the inside). Lots of beautiful tropical fish swimming beneath you and, if you're lucky, you might even see a sea turtle. My son loved it so much, we bought a second lesson, at a discounted rate. The one downside was that the classroom lesson was a few miles north of Kahalu'u Beach and you are on the hook for transporting yourself and/or loved one from the classroom to the beach.

Date of experience: June 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Guide22371083307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLSI, General Manager at Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Mahalo for joining us and a big thank you also for sharing your review. we are so happy to hear your son had a great time and overall positive experience surfing with our 'ohana.

It means so much to us to have folks join us and let us know we are going a good job generation after generation.

Aloha until next time.
Team HLSI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019

I had 2 teenage daughters that wanted to learn how to surf while we where in Hawaii. The Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors did an outstanding job at fulfilling this desire. They are well skilled, patient, mild mannered, and most of all fun!!!

I would recommend them to anyone!!

Date of experience: June 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Navigator56568259382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

Locally-owned company with great instructors both on land and in the water. Both my kids caught lots of waves for their first time trying to surf, and loved the instructors. Highly recommended, and would use them again on our next visit.

Date of experience: June 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cruiser60238396334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews