We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL A NICE PROPERTY AFTER OVER 25 YEARS.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“STILL A NICE PROPERTY AFTER OVER 25 YEARS.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been going to this property every few years since the late 1980's, sometimes with a group in tow, and it is still great. They have changed management several times over the years. The current management cares about the upkeep. It is a unique property as you enter on the third floor and the property heads long out towards the sea. The parking is all underground so you will have to carry your luggage up to your floor on an elevator or the stairs. The interior court is an open garden with a man made waterfall which they turn off at night.
The rooms are large, clean and usually quiet. The rooms have a large lanai. I can't say much for the level of Time-Warner channels that Outrigger subscribes to as there are few HD channels and those are difficult to find. Plus the HD TV is likely set to 4:3 so you will have to send some time with the "menu" settings to correct that.
One new negative about most Outrigger condos is that they added a mandatory $50-60 cleaning fee for reservations booked after June 1, 2013. This is normal for house rentals but airline-like for condos and I hope it bites them in the butt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff! We appreciate your comments about the condition of the property. We have worked very hard to ensure that the property remains in great condition for our owners and guests. This year we did begin charging a check out cleaning fee. Our vacation rental condominiums range in size from 900 square feet to 2600 square feet which is very comperable to vacation rental homes, and housekeeping needs are very much the same. We also work hard to maintain very cost effective nightly rates year-round that make a condominium rental in Kailua Kona affordable.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Hawaii Island!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    153
    59
    40
    23
See reviews for
136
163
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Point, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had 2 condos, had requested side by side which they couldn't accommodate but we were across from each other. Pools are good, lots of bbq areas too. Would stay here again no question. Rooms were clean and quiet. Staff was friendly. Didn't pay extra for cleaning, but could have. Kitchen was fully stocked with necessities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for your review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff! We are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. We try very hard to provide reasonable rates and a great vacation experience for our guests.

We hope that you will choose us again for your accommodation needs if you return to Kailua Kona!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this property in 2006 and the condo we stayed in at that time was ok. I remembered that all the condos have central air, which was important to my husband. This building was also very close to where other family members were staying.

We stayed up in Waikaloa for 4 days prior to checking in to the Outrigger. The Waikaloa hotel contacted us by phone after our stay to make sure we enjoyed our visit. The Outrigger front desk did not even ask about our stay when we were checking out.

The condo appeared ok at first glance, a little dated (coffee tables were from the 60's?) but once we were there a day or two, we started to notice issues.

Pros:
- condo was very big, plenty of room for 2 adults & 2 small kids
- condo was oceanfront & had a great view
- condo was one floor up from parking garage & right near elevator
- pool was very warm

Cons:
- holes in the very old & outdated curtains
- dirt behind those curtains
- rust on front of fridge & washer
- layer of dirt on the bottom of tub in 2nd bedroom
- dirty dishes in the cabinets, (coffee cups & utensils)
- dirt on air conditioning vents
- lampshades had holes
- holes in screens on patio doors
- tub in the master bath had slow drain. Had to stand in about 8 inches of water when showering
- holes in the bed sheets
- air conditioning broke down in entire complex for about 18 hours

We have family that live in Kona and we visit every couple years. We won't be staying here again. If you are given #316, request a different condo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your unit was not satisfactory. Most units at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Resort have been renovated but there are a select few that have not been done in recent years. We appreciate your mentioning your room number so we can pass your observations along to the unit owner.

We hope that if you choose to visit Kailua Kona again that you will give Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff another try.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The rooms were large and we each had our own bathroom. We had a very large main bedroom with a great views of the sea. The décor could have done with the update but it was clean and tidy. It have everything we needed. We were on the 7 floor. The apartments were stepped up so that nearly all the units had a view. The gardens down the middle were very well maintained as were the two swimming pools. You would need a vehicle as it is not in walking distance to the shops. We could have stayed longer

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha! We are glad to hear that you had a great vacation experience at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff on Hawaii Island. Our Ocean View units do indeed offer incredible panoramic views of the coastline and breath-taking Kona sunsets for a very reasonable nightly rate. It is advisable to have a rental car while on island due to the wide variety of sights and activities available to our guests.

We hope that you'll choose to visit Kailua Kona and Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff again soon!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 700 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am a Wyndham timeshare owner and booked a week at The Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Resort in Kona. I wanted to stay a little longer so we stayed a total of 4 nights at the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Resort. The price was great. Both companies share the same building. Outrigger condos have nicer views but are outdated. Outrigger is privately owned and every unit is different. My Wyndham unit was newly renovated and much nicer. The view was not as nice. I would reccomment Wyndham if you timeshare. For the price Outrigger is a great deal. Not so flashy but still comfortable. The resort itself has 2 pools an indoor parking garage and lovely atriums. The staff is very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments. Outrigger vacation rentals and Wyndham time share do indeed have units here at the property. Our unit owners with Outrigger do renovate on an individual bases, and units can be quite different from one another. Nearly all units with Outrigger have been renovated over the course of the last 6 years.

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff prides itself on being able to provide reasonable room rates while at the same time providing a great Hawaii vacation experience! We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed four days at this unusual place, The structure is nicely laid out, grounds are fantastic, the employees at the resort are wonderful, however room was dated and made you wonder if the owners of these units are still stuck in the 70s and 80s, we went to use the pool in the evening and where approached by a woman with a little white dog! and asked if we where guests here! seriously! and threatened that we had to leave if were not guests!!! oh and yes seams as tho pets are allowed here great if you have allergies right. So i went to the front desk to ask what the problem is... well come to find out this person lives here and from the attitude she gave us paying guests obviously she has some issues, so much for a first day impression right! Ok next night we went to use the BBQ grills had a hard time lighting them so called the front desk and surely they sent someone right away to help us it was great... then here comes this lady with this dog stalking.. I'm guessing this person either has some mental issues or has clearly has no life but to watch others. This made me feel very uncomfortable and we took are cooked meal back to our room... yes this was our second night! Alright now our third night we got back late from site seeing that day parked our car got back up tot the lobby to use a cart for items we purchased... and here is this lady again with this dog urinating and a pile of you know what on the curb next to the stairway leading to the front desk ... just awful nothing like the smell of dog waste! Again watching us as be returned this cart back to the lobby area..... I just don't understand how this can be tolerated at a place like this.....Honestly staying here is makes you feel like your at a halfway house for the mentally insane at the very lest!.........would think twice about this place again.......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamala C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear of your experience. We certainly do not condone such an interaction and we can honestly say that this is the first we have heard of something like this occurring.

We hope that if you choose to visit Kailua Kona again that you will give us another chance to provide a fantastic vacation experience.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week there and absolutely loved it!! Great location! The staff was great! Super nice and very helpful! Our room had a view of the ocean right by the south pool. We are already planning on bringing our kids in the near future! All in all it is a great place to stay for a family or couple! Only thing I would request would be a ATM on the grounds... but even that is only about a 5 minute walk, and there is a great little marketplace across the street. You can get souvenirs, shaved ice, coffee, etc.. The Royal Sea Cliffs gets an A+++++ from us!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandmelissa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are always so pleased to hear that we have provided a great place for you to stay so you can enjoy all that Hawaii Island has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.3 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
593 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#7 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Property: Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing