We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The rooms were large and we each had our own bathroom. We had a very large main bedroom with a great views of the sea. The décor could have done with the update but it was clean and tidy. It have everything we needed. We were on the 7 floor. The apartments were stepped up so that nearly all the units had a view. The gardens down the middle were very well maintained as were the two swimming pools. You would need a vehicle as it is not in walking distance to the shops. We could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Aloha! We are glad to hear that you had a great vacation experience at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff on Hawaii Island. Our Ocean View units do indeed offer incredible panoramic views of the coastline and breath-taking Kona sunsets for a very reasonable nightly rate. It is advisable to have a rental car while on island due to the wide variety of sights and activities available to our guests.

We hope that you'll choose to visit Kailua Kona and Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff again soon!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 443 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am a Wyndham timeshare owner and booked a week at The Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Resort in Kona. I wanted to stay a little longer so we stayed a total of 4 nights at the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Resort. The price was great. Both companies share the same building. Outrigger condos have nicer views but are outdated. Outrigger is privately owned and every unit is different. My Wyndham unit was newly renovated and much nicer. The view was not as nice. I would reccomment Wyndham if you timeshare. For the price Outrigger is a great deal. Not so flashy but still comfortable. The resort itself has 2 pools an indoor parking garage and lovely atriums. The staff is very accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your comments. Outrigger vacation rentals and Wyndham time share do indeed have units here at the property. Our unit owners with Outrigger do renovate on an individual bases, and units can be quite different from one another. Nearly all units with Outrigger have been renovated over the course of the last 6 years.

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff prides itself on being able to provide reasonable room rates while at the same time providing a great Hawaii vacation experience! We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed four days at this unusual place, The structure is nicely laid out, grounds are fantastic, the employees at the resort are wonderful, however room was dated and made you wonder if the owners of these units are still stuck in the 70s and 80s, we went to use the pool in the evening and where approached by a woman with a little white dog! and asked if we where guests here! seriously! and threatened that we had to leave if were not guests!!! oh and yes seams as tho pets are allowed here great if you have allergies right. So i went to the front desk to ask what the problem is... well come to find out this person lives here and from the attitude she gave us paying guests obviously she has some issues, so much for a first day impression right! Ok next night we went to use the BBQ grills had a hard time lighting them so called the front desk and surely they sent someone right away to help us it was great... then here comes this lady with this dog stalking.. I'm guessing this person either has some mental issues or has clearly has no life but to watch others. This made me feel very uncomfortable and we took are cooked meal back to our room... yes this was our second night! Alright now our third night we got back late from site seeing that day parked our car got back up tot the lobby to use a cart for items we purchased... and here is this lady again with this dog urinating and a pile of you know what on the curb next to the stairway leading to the front desk ... just awful nothing like the smell of dog waste! Again watching us as be returned this cart back to the lobby area..... I just don't understand how this can be tolerated at a place like this.....Honestly staying here is makes you feel like your at a halfway house for the mentally insane at the very lest!.........would think twice about this place again.......

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamala C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear of your experience. We certainly do not condone such an interaction and we can honestly say that this is the first we have heard of something like this occurring.

We hope that if you choose to visit Kailua Kona again that you will give us another chance to provide a fantastic vacation experience.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week there and absolutely loved it!! Great location! The staff was great! Super nice and very helpful! Our room had a view of the ocean right by the south pool. We are already planning on bringing our kids in the near future! All in all it is a great place to stay for a family or couple! Only thing I would request would be a ATM on the grounds... but even that is only about a 5 minute walk, and there is a great little marketplace across the street. You can get souvenirs, shaved ice, coffee, etc.. The Royal Sea Cliffs gets an A+++++ from us!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandmelissa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are always so pleased to hear that we have provided a great place for you to stay so you can enjoy all that Hawaii Island has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After reading a few poor reviews about these condos, I was a bit worried about what we might find but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Great holiday feeling as soon as we arrived and were greeted by the friendly reception staff. Within 15 minutes of arriving to our room, we received a courtesy call from manager to ask if everything was clean and to our satisfaction...nice touch! Fantastic oceanfront location and only a short walk to town. We had a one-bedroom condo which was very spacious and very well appointed with everything we needed. The bedroom was huge and the bed very comfortable. We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Aloha and thank you for posting a review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took home some great memories of Hawaii Island. A great tip for your next stay is to check with our in-house concierge to explore all of the activities available here on the island! You can book snorkel trips, heli-tours of the island, luau's and many other fun activities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We rented a 2 bedroom condo with full ocean front (because no other options that slept 5 were available when we booked). I was shocked about how gorgeous the view was. I'm wishing I was there now. The room was a bit dated and the mattress, holy crap, talk about firm, but I didn't have a back ache. I also didn't have a fear that my kids were going to ruin top of the line furniture. It was a nice solution.

The kitchen was nice, everything was clean. The only negative if you can even consider it one was the fact that we extended our checkout time because of an excursion early in the morning and when we returned prior to our appointed checkout time to grab a shower before heading to the airport, the cleaning crew had already shampooed the carpet, stripped all linens and was in process of detailing the rooms. I understood why and had no beef about it but it seemed that there may have been mixed communication about checkout times.

Collectively, the place was perfect for our family.

The south pool is heated, FYI and the north pool isn't. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pools and based on some of the reviews I saw, my kids may have been some of the noise makers but, they're kids. If you want peace, quiet and a kid free zone, pay for it by booking an adult only vacation and accommodations. It's the kids vacation too and they should be able to have fun (even the teenagers).

I'd definitely book this place again. Cooking in the unit was great and economical solution for families.

Mahalo Jenny and Rosielynn at the front desk.


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckeye-on-vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Aloha! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff here in Kailua Kona! It is always our goal to ensure that guests of Royal Sea Cliff have a great vacation experience. And we hope that you will come back again to enjoy more of what Hawaii Island has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

These condos are great value for money with plenty of room to relax including the pool complex just stones throw from the ocean. Be sure to catch the sunset from the pool deck if you do not have a direct ocean view. Plenty of guest parking. Easy access into the centre of Kona along the sedate Alli Drive.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jax1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Aloha and thank you for sharing what a great time you had with Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff! While guest parking can be troublesome at other properties, and can often cost up to $25 per day we, Royal Sea Cliff has more than enough parking and there is no charge. Having a vehicle to use during your stay is also highly recommended. Hawaii Island has an area of 4, 028 square miles providing a vast canvas of environments for you to discover unrivaled natural wonders!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,994 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,609 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $166 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing