We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$263
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$1,363
$1,139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$161
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
160
159
64
47
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
159
64
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden viewthe big islandsouth poolocean frontwasher and dryerbedroom condofull kitchentime shareparking garagegrounds are beautifulfamily poollarge lanaiair conditioningclose to townalii drivewatch the sunsetdowntown kona
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 456 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We bought a package deal from Australia which included accommodation . This apartment was ideal, plenty of room well appointed with a great ocean view . The bed was a bit firm. Laundry was in the room and the kitchen was a good size with all appliances but no sharp knife, all the knives were blunt. The apartment was very clean with no mold to be seen. It is a bit of a walk to any restaurant but the taxi is only $8 to downtown . Every taxi driver we had (4 different ones) were very helpful and courteous . There is a small organic cafe just about 150 metres north that's open for brekkie and lunch.
The staff were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMESTOLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced the aloha spirit from everyone that you encountered.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

WOW! First of all, Kona is incredible. I'm just wishing I were there now, just writing this review! This hotel has incredible courtyards, and even the rooms without a "view" still have a view. I mean, come on, it's Hawaii. Any room is a good room! I just have to say - don't even WORRY about planning your trip till you arrive. Set a budget, and have a good idea of what you are interested in doing, and the concierge will do it all for you. They seriously know the best places to do, the best deals and all. Our concierge, Laura Huntington, was one of the nicest people we've ever met. We consider her a great friend, and she holds a special place in our heart. She really has a passion to help people, and because of her, our trip was unforgettable! She even made a calendar for us with lots of downtime, and all our fun events spread out to still make it a leisurely trip. And the best part - she booked and paid for all our activities (wale watch, atv tour, zip lining, etc) so it was a one stop shop for all our needs. We told her our budget, and the things we wanted to do, and she worked it out for us! I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our stay. OH, and there is free Kona Coffee in the open air courtyard every morning. The perfect way to start the day! Do yourself a favor, and stay at this hotel. You won't regret it :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great view - save yourself the money, and get a garden view (you can still sometimes see a bit of the ocean from them, and if not - who wants to be in their room all vacation anyway?)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHolt4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Aloha!

We are delighted to hear that Laura was so helpful and made your vacation so perfect! We agree that she is a true asset as are all of the fine individuals who work at our activities desk. We encourage all of our guests to visit our concierge so they can make the most of their valuable vacation time. We will share your comments with Laura. She will take great pleasure in knowing how happy you are with her services.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A bargain price but not clean and totally outdated, sparsely furnished (70s decor). The only redeeming fact was it was economically priced. But still being 'economical' on the Big Island is a relative fact and doesn't justify a one-bedroom unit that is dirty - mold in the bathroom, sliding door handle and surround to the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months, blanket was dingy. Whew!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveitaly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor,

We are very sorry that you did not experience the Hawaii Island vacation that you anticipated. We strongly encourage our guests to bring to us comments about their accommodations so that we can pass this information along to our unit owners. We have cleanliness standards and it is apparent that we fell short in this case. Your comments remind us that attention to detail is critical and we thank you for sharing.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After a unreasonable trip over due to flight delays, we arrived very tired to find our reservations were incorrect, this was not the Royal Sea Cliffs fault but the Outrigger corporate reservations department. The lovely lady at the front desk was extremely sympathetic and very helpful and got us booked in to a room.
The room was nicely set out, with a reasonable kitchen, bathroom and laundry. the facility has free undercover and outdoor car parking.
The bed in the unit was the best bed we have ever slept in!
We didn't spend too much time in the hotel as that isn't what we go on holidays for, but the time we spent there was relaxing, the two pools were good as if one was busy the other would be quieter, and the view of the water off of the balcony was picture perfect, especially when the sun was setting.
The Royal Sea Cliff doesn't have a restaurant, bar or alike. but there is a local company that will go to nearly any restaurant order, collect and deliver your meal to your room.
We booked all our trips and adventures though the Expedia crew, they were very helpful with any questions we had.
My wife and I only had 4 nights here before heading off to Oahu for four nights and we both wished we could have stayed longer, it was a beautiful little resort with awesomely friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor,

We are very pleased to hear that you had such a perfect stay on Hawaii Island. It is very unfortunate that you had problems related to your reservations and we are glad that our staff could assist in straightening things out. Four days is not nearly long enough to enjoy our island and we encourage you to return for a longer stay sometime soon!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our first stop on our Hawaiian vacation was in Kailua-Kona. We booked in for 2 nights through the hotel website and managed to score a crazy deal: $145 a night for a 2-bedroom oceanview unit. I thought this was too good to be true, but we were floored when we walked into the room.

The unit we had, 702, was absolutely GORGEOUS. Full kitchen, 2 full bathrooms, 2 bedrooms, a pull-out couch, a sun deck, and a lanai with a table and chairs. My fiance and I were actually sad that we could only stay for 2 nights because the place was so nice. Sometimes we couldn't even find each other in the unit because there was so much room :P

The hotel is approximately 1 mile away from Kona town, which is full of nice shops and restaurants. Grocery stores are a little further, but if you have the time to make use of the kitchen, this is a great way to save on food expenses. Otherwise, there is a lot of selection in Kailua-Kona.

I really wish I could say more but we spent so little time in the actual room. However if you're travelling with family, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Check outrigger.com for deals on hotel rooms. Unit 702 is beautiful, take it if you can :P
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Aloha and thank you for the great comments about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff! We try to provide a cost effective yet great vacation experience for those traveling to Kailua Kona. Our units are very large and can accommodate up to six people. Many units also have wonderful ocean views.

We are pleased that you had what sounds like a great time, even if it was only for two nights. Hopefully you will be able to visit again sometime soon. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews