We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, newly renovated Room 303”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
GreenLeadersGold level
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, newly renovated Room 303”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Our room was really lovely. Great new appliances. Full kitchen and laundry, lovely patio, new bathroom. Lots of eateries options in Kona or surrounds. The ABC Shop provides grocery shopping or there's a supermarket just up the road from the main shopping area. This is a very beautiful part of the world - paradise!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LyNeTtE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    153
    59
    40
    23
See reviews for
136
163
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This property has two sections under one roof to stay in - it is part hotel and part time share.  

It had a great location - no water access, but we still climbed out onto the shoreline for some great sunset pictures.  It is within a 5 minute drive to the shopping and restaurants of Kailua-Kona. Or if you prefer to walk - it will take about 30 minutes.  It's worth the walk if you have the time, it's not to hot out, and you do not plan on buying a lot. 

We were to have adjoining rooms in the hotel section.  When we arrived our rooms were not ready, so they gave us one of the time shares to stay in.  It was nice - two bed rooms each with there own bathroom, living room with hide-a-bed couch, dining table, small kitchen (with all the necessary items to cook), tv in each room, and a small leni (patio).  

One bedroom had a king bed and the other had two twin beds.  Gave the in-laws the king bedroom, had the two twins put together to make a queen, one of our boys slept on the hide-a-bed couch, and had a roll-a-way brought down for the other boy (both in the living room).  Also had a small washer and dryer set in the king bedroom bath. 

We had great access to the larger of the two pools.  Simply walk out patio doors and it was about 40 feet to the gate.  Other pool was smaller, but there is a hot tub next to it.  

That's what we liked - no for what we did not like . . . 
One, don't expect your beds to be made, clean sheets or towels, or even more coffee packets to be waiting for you after you go out.  We were told that housekeeping did not service the time shares.  Point blank - "we were on our own".
Two, it did not appear that anyone had mopped the floors for sometime. Shortly after getting situated, I walked around our accommodations barefoot for about 15 minutes.  When I looked at the bottom of my feet they were totally black with dirt (even though the floors looked clean). 
Third, don't expect to do any large loads of laundry.  A standard load for us was about 4 pairs of shorts, 4-6 shirts, some underwear, and a few pairs of socks.  Also, you will need your own detergent and fabric softener.  
And last, don't look for your towels that you use in the morning, for a shower, to be dry by the next morning.  There had to be something wrong with the air conditioning unit.  No matter how far down you turned the thermostat - it never got below 72degrees and did little to take the moisture out of the air. 

All in all we had an enjoyable stay - just be prepared if you decide to stay in one of their time shares. 


  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapolei, HI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff very much. The 2 rooms were excellent, clean and roomy. I loved the two bathrooms, no one had to wait in line to get to use them. The living room was very spacious and comfortable with the pull out bed. The kitchenette lacked a lot of pots and pans, such as not enough frying pans and large pots. But we liked the convenience of having a kitchen and not having to spend a lot of money eating out. The washer and dryer needs some maintenance done on them. The washer's agitator needs to be looked at, we always had to adjust our washing because it was so unbalanced and the dryer's lint catcher needs to be replaced, it is so worn with holes in it. We will definitely return to this hotel next year when we celebrate my nephew's graduation. Mahalo to the wonderful staff for all the service we received.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makagirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hi. I was so impressed with the accommodation here that I wanted to write the review. We stayed in the most basic accommodation (cheapest) studio with kitchenette and I was so impressed with the standard of cleanliness and size of the studio. Although we were placed in a corner room we still had ocean views! I highly recommend this place and the staff at reception were super friendly. More than enough linen was provided and parking was free! I would 100percent stay here again. I cant say the same for the accommodation at Sheraton Princess in Waikiki though...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked our stay at the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff through Donna Bender who is an Outrigger Specialist. Our room was a spacious 2 bedroom with a large living area opening onto the lanai. The room was clean and neat, and included the essentials we needed for our stay (including a washer & dryer.) The staff was friendly and accommodating. The view from our lanai was great, as was the view from the open balcony at the end of the building, complete with couches & coffee table, where we watched the sunset & whales. Royal Sea Cliff is located close to town (about a 20 minute walk.) We plan to return for a longer stay soon.

Room Tip: Lanai with a view is great (you're in Hawaii!), so would recommend an upper floor. Very quiet f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Donna Bender assisted with this reservation (as she did on Maui).

We checked in late - after 9:30pm - We had room 420 - this room SMELLS!!!! Someone - please clean this room top to bottom: wash the curtains, remove the cushion covers and wash them too! And please clean behind/under the furniture! Because it was late, and we were tired, we went to bed - but the first thing I did in the morning was request to be moved.

They accommodated us and moved us to room 602 (420 has a better view and 2 outside sitting areas). We could see the ocean, but not very well. The room was clean and nice, kitchen well equipped.

The grounds are beautiful. Staff was great.

The town is just a mile or two up the road and has all the food/stores anyone could ever want/need.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beachbum330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed in many outriggers. Booked a two bedroom unit, when we arrived the AC was not on and the room smelled very "stale" and stuffy. One bedroom had two twin beds that were made so sloppy they looked like a child had been "jumping" on them. Room very dated.

The lady that checked us in smelled like smoke. Worst hotel experience we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill63texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.3 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
590 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#7 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Property: Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing