We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the Industrial Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ono Seafood & Poke Korean BBQ - CLOSED

Ono Seafood & Poke Korean BBQ
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: This restaurant sell typical korean food like galbi,bibimbap,korean miso soup,kimchee soup, soontofu and hawaii poke.
Orange, California, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In the Industrial Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ono Seafood is not in the best area, but it was good. The bulgoki and kalbi was very good and tasty. Chicken was a little dry. Can eat in a small, covered area. Restaurant is located between a liquor store and an ice making company. Waitresses were very nice and accommodating. Prices were inexpensive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AroundTheWorldLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great off-the-beaten-path find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I loved this little hole-in-the-wall in Kona. It's in the industrial area, and definitely not a touristy place. But it had great authentic Korean food with a little Hawaiian touch to it. And if you love to eat where the locals do, this is one of those places. We visited twice on our little 4-day trip to the Big Island. The woman running the place was really sweet. Service was great. Yes, the patio area is a little dingy, and there can be lots of flies (we noticed this only when sitting by the railing), but the food is great. My husband liked the Bibimbap, and we both really liked the Bulkogi. I also tried the mixed plate with Kalbi, Bulkogi, and Mandu, and it was all good. Definitely a place to try when on the Big Island, especially if you like Korean food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingKatie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - Best Kalua Pork of the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is a serious industrial area, and there was continuous noise from what sounded like a giant ice making machine next door.

However, if finding tasty food is your objective, then this is the place for you! Amazingly moist and delicious kalua pork! Great poke (although not quite as good as Da Poke Shack)! Great value!

There is a nice shaded porch for you to eat your meal as long as you can deal with the noise, but I'll admit that this was some of the best food we had during our 9 days in Hawaii. We saw tons of working locals drop in at noon for lunch, and now we know why.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlj_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in Kailua-Kona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ono had a unique selection of excellent poke and korean bbq, and was one of the best meals in our ten day trip to Hawaii. Ono is hidden away in a lot shared with a cold storage company (look carefully or you'll miss it!), but don't let that discourage you from seeking it out. For lunch we had an assortment of 4 types of poke with rice, and kalbi with rice, which is Korean bbq beef. The meal came with the standard set of Korean starters. The poke was the best we had on the island, and the kalbi was just like my Korean friend's mom used to make. But best of all was the service. The woman who took our order and served us was incredibly welcoming and patient with our order. She truly made the experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott_on_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“HOLE IN THE WALL LUNCH!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you weren't looking for Ono, you'd never know it was here. Located in what seems like a small industrial business with a private lot, they are a small operation with kitchen on the inside and tables on the outside. They have different varieties of poke and korean dishes. The hawaiian poke was great, but a little too spicy for some in our party. Oh well, I got to enjoy the rest of the the pound of poke we got. I also enjoyed the mixed plate with manjoo. What the hell is manjoo? It's sort of a fried potsticker ...rather interesting. As long as you come hungry, and not expecting anything glamorous, you'll leave Ono well fed.

Extra points for having a water cooler to dispense your own cold water. In true korean fashion, they also give you banchan to begin your meal with!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Seafood & Poke Korean BBQ also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing