We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luau for the whole family!”

Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel
Ranked #37 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ali Drive
Transit: Ali'i Drive
Description: Guests of the Island Breeze Luau will be amazed with a display of authentic Polynesian activities, cuisine, and performances. Island Breeze Luau, located in right on the edge of the ocean of the King Kamehameha Hotel is rated the best lu'au on the Big Island by kama'aina (local residents)visitors and travel writers. The luau begins with a lei greeting and picture taking. An open bar, arts and crafts await you. The imu (traditional underground oven) ceremony, is also a part of the exciting beginning to your Island Breeze ohana (family). There are many ways to participate in the luau activities: weave a coconut frond, learn how to open a coconut, learn the art of hula, get a Polynesian tattoo, and take the time to meet and talk to some of the performers. Adults $82.74 Child (5-12) $41.34 Under 5 complimentary
Waimanalo, Hawaii
1 review
“Luau for the whole family!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This luau was absolutely breath- taking. I would totally watch it again! It's suitable for the whole family and is about the culture rather than the sultry take most luaus provide.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JusticeJoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    141
    67
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“THE BEST!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Island Breeze Luau is the best! You will experience great Customer Service from the Reservations Desk, Greeters, and Dancers too.

You will learn a whole lot about the Islands and the people of the Islands during the Luau Experience. You can even learn the Hula too.

The food is great! I love the Teri Steak and they also have Hawaiian Poi too. The lomi lomi salmon is delicious.

I would highly recommend going to the Island Breeze Luau during your Vacation to the Big Island of Hawaii. They really have ALOHA!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loryn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Great Show & Experience”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was a great experience from the beginning to end. We were able to learn arts and crafts in a wonderful atmosphere. Excellent for our family! The food was great and filling!!! The show was a definite highlight as we were able to experience polynesia all in one night. I highly recommend this show!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, New Mexico, United States
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food, good show, and good location.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

When we booked our tour they put in the Island Breeze Luau. The tour company told us to make sure to find a parking place early and that hint was a blessing with the Ironman World Championship in town. We got there early, checked in at the hotel luau desk. They offered preferred seating for an additional cost. We didn't upgrade for the tables in front of the stage. The stage is elevated and if you get in early you will get a good seat. Just before 5pm we were greeted and the folks who upgraded were let in first. OK we didn't eat for another 1/2 hour anyway. We were offered a flower lay and a nut lay for a price, had our picture taken for a price and were seated right next to the table where the people who upgraded sat. They had drinks on the lawn, and different activities before the the show started. They had a little entertainment and then the food was ready. We watched the pig come out of the ground roasted to perfection. The food was very good. The had fish, chicken, beef, and of course pork. All of it was very good. The show lasted a little over an hour and was very good. The talent of the performers was outstanding. I would send my friends to see this show.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was very good from the starting welcome, to the arrival of the king by canoe, to the unveiling of the pig, to the hula lesson, the temporary tattoo, pretty good food, and a really good polynesian show. All round very good - couldn't ask for more with a fabulous setting right on the water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank megsy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing