We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Naan bread and cheap beer!”
Review of Shivalik Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Shivalik Indian Cuisine
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Lunch buffet and ala carte menu options for lunch from 11:00 am - 3:00 pm every day! Dinner starts at 5:00 pm. Specializing in Tandoori and Indian Curries. Experience a tantalizing variety of meats, exquisite vegetarian & non-vegetarian dishes, curries, & tandoori from our special clay Tandoor oven! Dine while looking over the majestic view of Kailua-Bay at Kona's Only Authentic Indian Cuisine! BYOB no corkage charge until liquor license is obtained. Entice your palate ...awaken your senses...
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Naan bread and cheap beer!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We never ate a meal here but stopped in a few times for their happy hour. The naan bread with dipping sauces was delicious and the beer was cheap! $2.00 for bottles from noon-8pm.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good views -- bad food”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I went here looking for some good vegetarian Indian food. The restaurant is directly across from the bay and has nice views. The service was fine as the place was dead for a Wednesday night. Our food wasn't so great. In fact, it was probably the worst Indian we've had. Nothing fresh. It tasted like it was right out of a can or microwave. If you are looking for a place for some drinks with a nice view, this might be your place, but skip the food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elrollo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We didn't have any food here, just drinks with friends. The service was great and the server was friendly, even taking photos for us. To just grab a beer, this was the best price we found in Kona.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mytinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Right across the road from our hotel, the food was reasonably priced and absolutely delicious. Our waitress was pure joy, smiling, friendly and the manager made sure to check in and make sure everything was to our satisfaction. If you like a good curry it is especially enjoyable with a turquoise blue ocean and palm trees in the background

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank powdergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So disappointed.”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had been craving Indian Food for months, we have nothing here in Hilo. On a shopping trip to Kona we looked forward to trying Shivalik for lunch. We arrived about 1:30, very few patrons were present and no one met us at the door. We wandered in and a young woman bustled out with menus and showed us to a nice table. She asked for our drink order, tea, and disappeared for 20 minutes. Finally we got water and tea and were able to order. The menu wasn't very descriptive. When the food finally came it was disappointing and the chutneys seemed really stale. We ate and began preparing to leave before we were checked on by the waitress. Terrible service, expensive and poorly prepared food, we'll never go back. That night we both felt ill and had gastro distress!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buncake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shivalik Indian Cuisine also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing