We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for those who doesn't have Asian food often”
Review of Da Poke Shack

Da Poke Shack
Ranked #5 of 247 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Our "take-out" style shop specializes in poke bowls and plates, featuring a variety of locally caught ahi tuna. Our poke is always fresh, never frozen...guaranteed! We also serve shrimp, tako and taegu poke. For those in your ohana who do not eat fish we serve traditional lau lau and kalua pulled pork. We even do a vegetarian poke bowl and offer gluten free options! In addition, all poke bowls and plates are served with locally inspired side dishes and rice. Unfortunately, we have limited outdoor seating, but you are welcome to stay and eat at our shared tables if they are available. Our shop opens at 10am, and we highly recommend coming early as our poke tends to sell out daily. Most days, the earlier you visit, the greater the variety of poke and side dishes to choose from. Since we guarantee freshness, and we NEVER serve yesterday's poke, we appreciate your understanding if we do not have your favorite poke late in the afternoon. Come and see us, you'll be hooked! Mahalo!
Reviewed September 5, 2016

If you're an Asian or if you have had good experiences with sushi, don't bother to go there, it's just a bunch of frozen food mixed together like the quickie lunch boxes you get from subway stations. For lunch boxes they are good. For a travelling person who wants nice food, pass.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank johnnyy896
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 684 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2016

First time at Poke. Basically raw fish in a acidic bath that coats the fish and gives it flavor. Comes with choice of white or brown rice, two choices of fish, and one side. A great meal
for one, or could be shared by two for a light lunch! Loved it!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank STEVEGD118595
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

My friends had raved about Poke from their previous visits to Hawaii. But I had no idea something so simple could taste so great. Da Poke Shack always had fresh fish on hand, and a good variety and the staff were awesome!

Poke for breakfast, lunch and dinner...don't mind if I do!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suzetteramcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Good food. Can get busy. Line can progress slowly. Try to be there for lunch, by afternoon most of the choices are gone.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank alexandrepsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Although someone told me about this place, I think I would have found it and stopped by anyway. Love the shack, the décor and the food. The style and the way you order is unique and adds a personal touch.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mhawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Poke Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Poke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.