We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Poke!”
Review of Da Poke Shack

Da Poke Shack
Ranked #5 of 247 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Our "take-out" style shop specializes in poke bowls and plates, featuring a variety of locally caught ahi tuna. Our poke is always fresh, never frozen...guaranteed! We also serve shrimp, tako and taegu poke. For those in your ohana who do not eat fish we serve traditional lau lau and kalua pulled pork. We even do a vegetarian poke bowl and offer gluten free options! In addition, all poke bowls and plates are served with locally inspired side dishes and rice. Unfortunately, we have limited outdoor seating, but you are welcome to stay and eat at our shared tables if they are available. Our shop opens at 10am, and we highly recommend coming early as our poke tends to sell out daily. Most days, the earlier you visit, the greater the variety of poke and side dishes to choose from. Since we guarantee freshness, and we NEVER serve yesterday's poke, we appreciate your understanding if we do not have your favorite poke late in the afternoon. Come and see us, you'll be hooked! Mahalo!
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Poke Shack is one of our favorite places for lunch or dinner in Kona-Kailua. Its just a little take out place, but the people are friendly and the poke is fresh and fantastic. You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank dnakng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 693 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Great fresh tuna poke..not cheap, but worth it..freshly hand cut daily..family-run..great people..very patient and helpful

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank NanaM4three
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

In a nutshell, poke is a raw fish, sliced or cubed, seasoned and/or sauced, usually served with rice. It's very traditional Hawaiian. If you like sushi, consider this the best chirashi sushi with absolutely no pretense.

Da Poke Shack always comes up when you google "poke" and "Hawaii." And it should. The pokes are incredible, with stellar fish, and simple rice. Get the platter: 2 scoops of rice, 4 pokes and 2 small salads. It sounds like a lot, but it's soooo good! It's take-out only, with some picnic tables outside. It's perfect for a late breakfast thru late lunch.

If you're into food, this is a must stop.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MartyMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

This is our favorite place to eat in Kona. We actually picked the condo we stayed at since it was next door and would be convenient. It was the first place we ate after arriving. The fish is very fresh and great choices and sides. If you like Poke, this is the place to go!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sansak907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We were on the Big Island for two weeks and ate here almost every day. The Poke was amazingly fresh. Make sure you get there early for Lunch (before 11:30am) or Dinner (before 4pm) if you want the best selection. They do run out on some items pretty quickly.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scotthN7630PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Poke Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Poke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.