We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Stop”
Review of Da Poke Shack

Da Poke Shack
Ranked #5 of 247 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Our "take-out" style shop specializes in poke bowls and plates, featuring a variety of locally caught ahi tuna. Our poke is always fresh, never frozen...guaranteed! We also serve shrimp, tako and taegu poke. For those in your ohana who do not eat fish we serve traditional lau lau and kalua pulled pork. We even do a vegetarian poke bowl and offer gluten free options! In addition, all poke bowls and plates are served with locally inspired side dishes and rice. Unfortunately, we have limited outdoor seating, but you are welcome to stay and eat at our shared tables if they are available. Our shop opens at 10am, and we highly recommend coming early as our poke tends to sell out daily. Most days, the earlier you visit, the greater the variety of poke and side dishes to choose from. Since we guarantee freshness, and we NEVER serve yesterday's poke, we appreciate your understanding if we do not have your favorite poke late in the afternoon. Come and see us, you'll be hooked! Mahalo!
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Stopped in after visiting Kahului'u beach where the turtles were out in force. We had the poke bowls. Spicy tuna and seaweed salad. Also spicy octopus plus chili/ garlic with California salad. Accompanied with an IPA.
More than lives up to the hype.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank PeterR0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 721 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

When in Kona, my husband and I tried a wide variety of the local fare and this was the stand out. He doesn't really like fish, but loved the poke here because if how fresh it was. I love salmon and this was one of the best fresh salmon dishes I have ever had. The lady that served us was super friendly and very helpful to novice poke eaters such as ourselves. I would return in a heart beat.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Eaf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

This is a must stop!! Voted #1 on Yelp 2015 and #15 in 2016. This place will not disappoint. I may have eaten enough poke to give me mercury poisoning but well worth it in my opinion! Go!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ronaldjasonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Excellent food, make sure you go ready to stand in line. Very little parking. Well worth it if you like raw fish. Don't park in condo near by they are always watching.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank swrights123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

It's been 4 years since our last Big Island visit and we couldn't wait to go back to Da Poke Shack. They didn't disappoint, great poke and hubby and son love the kalua pork. Some outdoor seating if you don't want to-go.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank ChocolateBabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Poke Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Poke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.