We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the wall, but worth it!”
Review of Da Poke Shack

Da Poke Shack
Ranked #3 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall, but worth it!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area. It is a bit easy to miss as it's a small place. There are many different kinds of poke, and all the ones we tried were delicious. There are a couple picnic tables out front, but we got take-away and ate ours on the beach!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NVanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,236
    307
    97
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Better than supermarket poke!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stopped here on a recommendation and the line was out the door. As we waited one of the staff updated the price of a poke bowl from $10 to $20. They ran out of marlin and started serving more expensive ahi. Everyone in line groaned sarcastically and had a laugh. They have several different poke preparations and the two we tried were very good (one was shoyu and the other something spicy). Get there before the lunch rush and take your poke to go to try and miss the line out the door. Parking is very limited. We usually pick up some poke at the supermarket while shopping and this was much better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Da Poke Shack has awesome food and a very friendly staff. VERY fresh fish mixed with very complementary ingredients (I am drooling now thinking about the Ahi and avocado poke) I wish we could have brought a 5 gallon bucket of it home with us! Go early, because they run out of some of the different types of Poke as the day goes on.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real value, excellent quality”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Almost too good to be true - a fabulous meal in Hawaii for a reasonable price! Atmosphere is ok, small place with out door picnic tables- but Mother Nature provides ample options close buy to get yours to go and enjoy! You won't find a better value!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfdogparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poke? People were unfriendly and not helpful -dont reccomend”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped here as we where driving down to snorkel nearby. My kids remembered the sign and we wanted to stop in and check out what all the hype is with this small little place. We were excited to sample the food.

A few picnic benches outside to eat . Inside you walk in and its like a fish type market with a few glass containers with some small metal bowls with different types of food items in them. Behind the counter was a girl and a guy helping.

When we initailly walked in NO one was in the store so they for sure had sometime to explain atleast a little what POKE was and the different options they had on the wall for side dishes.

My kids will try anything but it was very obvious from the moment we walked into the store they were less then interested in explaining anything at all. The lady behind the counter was less then friendly to me or my 12 and 13 yo kids and she was just impatient and had no desire to faciliate .

So we ordered a few things and the kids found out-as did I that poke was raw fish and they really dont like raw fish-especially on a vacation and to get sick on bad raw fish was not was any of us wanted. She we just tossed the items and left. I said nothing to them in the store.

Bottom line-yes we should had known what POKE was but also let me tell you POKE Shack that it is the tourists that keep you afloat and keep you guys in business-not your local crowd.

It was obvious as a few locals walked in and the lady ordered their meals speaking over my kids heads as we still were looking at the items and trying to find something to eat that they recognized.

We all know when we are travelling when the local people want to assist and be cordial and we all know when the locals just want to watch tourists stumble around and we all recognized that the POKE Shack definitely likes to watch toursist stumble around and be less then helpful.

So maybe the POKE is excellent--im sure it is-but if you have kids or just want to support a friendlly local place and keep them in business this is not the place to visit. I read other places that have POKE also so Poke Shack be ware-if you treat tourists like we are never returning again-remember social media can hurt your business bigtime.

Feel Free to respond Poke Shack-I can give you the day , time and description of the seemingly less then enthused employess behind the counter.

Sorry for the sarcasim here but spending 25 dollars with this type of local service is more then disappointing it is unacceptable.

Pete.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Poke Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Poke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing