We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good”

Humpy's Big Island Alehouse
Ranked #36 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
619 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed little bistro and bar. Beautiful outlook over the water. Staff very friendly. Food mighty fine. Coffee very tasty too. We had breakfast here and it was very good. Prices very reasonable given the nice location. Hard to fault. Nice place to while away a couple of hours.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoSheds57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    507
    194
    81
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All I can say is "yuck"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you want some good island food....don't go here. This place is like eating at a big chain restaruant. Chili's or TGI Friday's would've tasted better. We had a burger which tasted like pressed wood, and fish that was dry, overcooked and no flavor. Um, the ocean is just right there and it seemed like they were offering frozen fish. And it came with fresh fruit, which consisted of cantalope and grapes. C'mon, this is Hawaii...where's the fresh pineapple, papaya, mango?! Overall tasted like they just ripped open some pre-prepared packages and flopped it on plates.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZLike2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
637 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Nice view, casual and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The outside seating is at high tables and with stools and parties share the tables. The tables in the front by the street have a better view. The food was very good-I always enjoy the fish dishes myself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTraveling64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“With a view like that, who notices the good?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in after a day of snorkeling, so we were a little sad to see that there was a cruise ship in port as well, expecting everything to be full. We were seated upstairs, overlooking the gorgeous water and the cruise ship. The burger I had was very good...And they cooked it the way I asked. Everyone else had fish and chips, which looked great. Service was a little slow, but you cannot beat the view, so waiting for a check could be worse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My family stopped here because it reminded us of a favorite place in Lahalna. The waitress was friendly, prompt, and efficient. The food was good but no bargains were found in the menu. Good selection of local beers and nice view from the balcony. I will eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oyster_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humpy's Big Island Alehouse also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Humpy's Big Island Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing