We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest place, good service, good food”

Humpy's Big Island Alehouse
Ranked #36 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Honest place, good service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Humpy's has no pretentious. It's a pub with pub food that delivers what pub food should. And a great view from the second floor that you don't have to pay extra for.

We'll go back.

Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    507
    194
    81
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Humpy's is our Cheers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We are locals and frequently do Humpy's for happy hour/dinner... At least once a week. Casual atmosphere, great staff, excellent location. Beer selection is awesome and good pub style food. One of the better places on Ali'i Drive. We take all of our visiting mainland friends here and I take many clients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blakeyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“36 beers on tap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went 3 times during our ten day stay. Enjoyed the food and the great beer selection. Wonderful location with ocean view and breezes. Our server for two visits was excellent, with quick and personable service. Had a different server on one of our visits, who was not as good. Otherwise we would have given five stars. We will definitely come here again on our next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dinner delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I, two adult kids and spouses, and a granddaughter had dinner here. Most of us chose the kalua pork plate and it was delicious. Try it. Mai tais and pina coladas were excellent. We gave the bartender a big thumbs up as we left and he grinned a big thank you to us. The server was excellent and helpful during a time when they were very busy. On this particular evening, you could tell the people working there enjoyed what they were doing. We watched the sun set before we left, which added to a great evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeremiahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great food, casual ambiance and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a great casual place to unwind with a cold refreshment and catch that last glimpse of sunlight. I found the dinner salad to be very good , especially the Asian chicken salad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humpy's Big Island Alehouse also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Humpy's Big Island Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing