We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!!!”

Ocean Safaris Kayak Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paddling Kona’s clear, pristine waters since 1994, Ocean Safari’s Kayak Adventures have introduced countless visitors and Kama’aina (Island Locals) to the fast growing sport of kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, and paddle-surfing. We focus on small groups of adventurers, making safety and fun top priority. Every Kayak tour is different and may include dolphin and whale watching, snorkeling, sea cave exploration and maybe even cliff jumping. You may see tidal pools filled with eels, sea turtles and colorful tropical fish while wild parrots can at times be seen flying overhead. Join us for a night snorkel with manta rays!All our guided adventures are led by experienced watermen/women who are Hawaii Lifeguard Certified and we are fully insured. Ocean Safari’s Kayak Adventures assist with water safety at Kona’s annual Ironman Triathlon as well as other water events.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was my first time to Hawaii, first time on a kayak, and first time snorkeling! Visited from Phoenix, Az- here for a wedding and decided to do the kayak tour. It was unforgettable. Walter and Rebecca, our tour guides, were absolutely wonderful. I felt completely comfortable and safe the entire tour. Saw some really cool fish and even whales!! Definitely worth every penny :)

Thank Flawlessfaces408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 311 of 324 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

As avid kayakers, my husband and I had no trouble keeping up in the ocean waters. We actually. Got a good rhythm going in a tandem kayak. Yes, it does say no experience necessary, but it is SEA kayaking, and about 3 miles round trip. So don't go out expecting your 8 year old to pull his weight, your going to have to paddle for both of you. It is define tally not a flat river ride, but that's the best part! Cliff diving was awesome, it's high, I got a few bruises from hitting the water from 24 ft, but I would do it again! The sea was a bit rough so we couldn't go into the cave, but the snorkeling and beautiful views more than made up for it. We're going back next year!

Thank Bee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our first time Kayaking in the Ocean on 01-17-13 will always be remembered as a very bad experience in the big Island, my wife not being a strong swimmer was apprehensive but felt safe when she read that no experience was necessary, however after they helped us get in the water no instructions were given on how to paddle then took us on a 2 1/2 hr. nightmare, both going and returning though HIGH choppy waves, the winds were so bad that we were not able to go to any of the caves. My wife"s wrists were swollen due to the paddling that she did and trying not to capsize . Both of us being novices had no idea that the winds and wave conditions were predicted for that location, we went with blind faith that the operator would not have lead us out in those conditions due to safety. I sense that the guides were worried and felt the conditions were getting rough and wanted to get us back. In my opinion they should have canceled the whole tour.

3  Thank IM4OU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelilina, Representative at Ocean Safaris Kayak Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are very sorry that you had such a bad experience with us.

A note on the water conditions in Hawaii: Winter time (November-March) is our rough season. This is the time of year for high surf and rough seas. Sometimes in the summer it is as calm as a pool, and even in the winter it can be very calm. On those days it is not, we must be on call the morning of a tour to decide whether or not it is safe to take novice's into those conditions. We will never take anybody out or into a sea cave in unsafe conditions. We can never guarantee the weather to cooperate fully and while it may be calm in one bay, it may be worse in another, causing us to have to abort the sea cave portion of our tour. If it is borderline (safe yet will be more of a challenge/workout), our guides will inform our guests of this before they go out so that you may try to reschedule or cancel your trip if you think you are not up for the challenge.

While there is no previous experience in kayaking or snorkeling needed, understand that this is an ACTIVE activity. There is no propeller on a kayak, so even if you are fit and in shape, you will probably be a little sore from the physical exertion needed to paddle yourself through the water. The sea cave tour is about 3 miles round trip. If you are apprehensive about such a long tour, you are more than welcome to come down to take the kayaks for a spin to find out if it's for you.

If you are uncomfortable, tell us so that we may accommodate you on another day or help you if you're having trouble! We can tow you back in if you are too tired, we will demonstrate techniques to get back into your kayak and if you still have trouble, we will get underneath you and lift you back in ourselves!

On the beach our guides give a briefing on how to hold the paddle, etc. so pay attention before you get into your kayak. They'll help everyone into the water, have you paddle around in the bay for a test drive while everyone else gets in, then they'll come join you and give you a more in-depth briefing on kayaking. It is a beautiful spot and you are excited about the tour you're about to embark on, but there is important information being told to you, so give them your attention right away and it will make your trip turn into a 5 star like most of our guests agree to, instead of this 1 star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My first time giving a bad review, but felt compiled to warn other vacationers. My worse experience in 4 years visiting this island. The guides in Kona should have cancelled this early tour 1-16-13 the waves were too dangerous high to even get close to any caves or anything else, the snorkeling was cloudy due to the high waves. The guides did not give sufficant Instructions to those who didn't have enough experience & didn't offer to help anyone one get back on the Kakak it's almost like they expected you to know all detail . If your not experience don't go on this tour. Very scary not worth ruining your vacation, and no refund per Manager
Mike unless you use them again, which I never will :(

1  Thank Sweetpea936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelilina, Representative at Ocean Safaris Kayak Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are very sorry that you had such a bad experience with us.

A note on the water conditions in Hawaii: Winter time (November-March) is our rough season. This is the time of year for high surf and rough seas. Sometimes in the summer it is as calm as a pool, and even in the winter it can be very calm. On those days it is not, we must be on call the morning of a tour to decide whether or not it is safe to take novice's into those conditions. We will never take anybody out or into a sea cave in unsafe conditions. We can never guarantee the weather to cooperate fully and while it may be calm in one bay, it may be worse in another, causing us to have to abort the sea cave portion of our tour. If it is borderline (safe yet will be more of a challenge/workout), our guides will inform our guests of this before they go out so that you may try to reschedule or cancel your trip if you think you are not up for the challenge.

While there is no previous experience in kayaking or snorkeling needed, understand that this is an ACTIVE activity. There is no propeller on a kayak, so even if you are fit and in shape, you will probably be a little sore from the physical exertion needed to paddle yourself through the water. The sea cave tour is about 3 miles round trip. If you are apprehensive about such a long tour, you are more than welcome to come down to take the kayaks for a spin to find out if it's for you.

If you are uncomfortable, tell us so that we may accommodate you on another day or help you if you're having trouble! We can tow you back in if you are too tired, we will demonstrate techniques to get back into your kayak and if you still have trouble, we will get underneath you and lift you back in ourselves!

On the beach our guides give a briefing on how to hold the paddle, etc. so pay attention before you get into your kayak. They'll help everyone into the water, have you paddle around in the bay for a test drive while everyone else gets in, then they'll come join you and give you a more in-depth briefing on kayaking. It is a beautiful spot and you are excited about the tour you're about to embark on, but there is important information being told to you, so give them your attention right away and it will make your trip turn into a 5 star like most of our guests agree to, instead of this 1 star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was my second kayak trip with this group, and I think I liked it even better than the first! It was the same trip as last year, but this year we encountered a large group of spinner dolphins in addition to the sea cave, snorkeling and cliff diving. We also heard, but unfortunately didn't see, a whale while we were snorkeling. The kayaking part of the trip (ie: the part you have to paddle) is pretty easy and at a laid back pace. I think the tour ran a little over time because everyone, including the guides, were so excited to see the dolphins.

The guides are super friiendly and very helpful. They also seem quite interested in what they do, and in making sure each guest has a good time.

Without hesitation I would recommend this trip to just about anyone. Because you're right i the water, you really get to see Keauhou bay up close - very close!

Thank Edmund S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Safaris Kayak Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Honalo, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ocean Safaris Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing