We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Swim with Wild Dolphins & Manta Rays everyday. Established in 2002 and still going strong; We have been the Winner of the Certificate of Excellence for 10 years now. We are a Big Island of Hawaii adventure for swimming with Dolphins & Manta Rays. Eco friendly, we follow the guidelines established to make our tours safe for the Manta Rays, dolphins and our guests. We are on the GREENLIST FOR MANTA RAY TOURS. ONLY CHOOSE A COMPANY THAT IS REGISTERED FOR SAFETY OF THE MANTA RAYS on the Green List. Morning Dolphin charters take you up the Kailua Kona coast to a pod of wild dolphins, usually 100 plus. Snorkel with them right next to you. Lunch & snacks included. Rated as #1 Night Manta Ray snorkel company by all the review web sites. These are the most exciting activities you'll do here. All gear included. These 2 activities with marine life will be a highlight of your trip. We take children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Traveled out with Captain Ron and his assistant Netalie for a night manta-ray snorkel. We were fortunate to be only passengers on our boat, so it felt quite exclusive. My mother had been fearful of any water experience, but they were patient and helpful in assuring her everything will be okay and took the necessary measures to make her comfortable. Everything about the experience was on par or better than advertised. The macadamia brownie was icing on the cake. We absolutely enjoyed our trip and would recommend to anyone.

1  Thank PeterChien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Aloha,
Thank you for mentioning the efforts of our crew as they help your mother get comfortable in the water. We have so many that come here and snorkel for the first time or don't really know how to swim and our guides help them to overcome their fears. They are all very caring about our guests needs.
Mahalo
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 545 of 724 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been coming to Kona for many years and have been on many different boats and adventures. BY FAR, Captain Ron, Jessica, and Coral Reef Adventures is the best. Taking a maximum of 6 clients, the experience is tailored to what the customers want. The boat is just the right size and no one is crowded or hurried. We went out on a night snorkel dive to see the Manta Rays - how graceful and beautiful. We had such a great time we booked the dolphin trip for the next day! We saw over 400 dolphins and swam with at least 100, so close you could look into their eyes. Captain Ron stopped when he saw some rays swimming alongside the boat and we got in the water with them - such an awesome experience! The price was very reasonable - why go on an over crowded boat when you can get a very personal experience!

Thank LaurieD918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Aloha, what a wonderful experience to have both the Manta Rays and dolphins on your ocean adventures. We have such a unique place on the earth where the marine life is so interactive with people. We really encourage our guests to be eco conscience while here so our marine life will not be effect in a harmful way. We are so happy that you also included our dolphin snorkel tour. There's such a beautiful shoreline to explore and the coral reefs are full of fish.
Mahalo for allowing us to be your guides for these tours.
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked this at the last minute. Captain Ron and his helper, Beth Ann were outstanding hosts. We and another couple had a memorable experience with the spinner dolphins and as an added treat we saw manta rays!

Of course its not guaranteed you'll see dolphins, but Ron does his best to get you into the pod and follows them up the coast. Food was simple but delicious.

I hear the night manta tour is great, and if/when we go back to Kona we will be looking up Captain Ron!

Thank SLOCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

As a small business, we do often have openings at the last minute. We want to enjoy our time with our guests on the water as much as they do. That's why we stay small. We may be hard to find but from what our past guests say, (it's the highlight of the vacation) so I guess we will stay small and offer great service to those who choose us over the larger boats.
Mahalo
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ron and Nathalie gave us an unforgettable experience; we swam with dozens, if not hundreds, of dolphins, and also saw the dance of a huge manta ray. What a treat, truly amazing stuff. The boat was comfortable and super clean, the ambiance friendly, relaxed yet also knowledgeable and attentive, the snacks tasty (yummy homemade macadamia nut brownie ....). Yes it's expensive, but SO worth it. Ron, who clearly knows his stuff, dropped us 3 times in front of huge incoming dolphin pods, and we also had a really nice swim on the reef with the ray. Kudos to Nathalie for taking care of our 8 year old daughter and making her feel totally at ease in the water and taking her to spot the best sights. It also didn't hurt that with a party of 5, we had the boat to ourselves. Highly, highly recommended !!!!!!!!!!!!!

1  Thank derekw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Aloha
Thank you for mentioning the atmosphere on our charters. All of our crew love their jobs and it shows in how they care for our guests on the tour. We really care about making a wonderful lasting impression of their adventure on the ocean here in Hawaii. We realize that to help the young ones on the snorkel part can give them a memory that will last a lifetime.
Mahalo
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Tip 1) If you are looking to be on a charter boat with more than 6 people - this is not for you.

Tip 2) If you are looking to be on a boat with an attentive, professional, nice and engaging crew - this is not for you.

Tip 3) Lastly, if you are looking to be on a boat where they don't serve their famous brownies -
this is certainly NOT for you.

Because of Trip Advisor, my husband and I were lucky to find this company, based on the multitude of positive reviews shared by others. With that, we booked our night excursion (10/8) with the Manta Rays which til this day, brings a smile to my face. It is certainly a bucket list item that I can cross. Directions from Captain Ron (when you book your excursion) to get to the meeting place - was very straight forward and very much appreciated. After signing your life away (kidding), my husband and I and another couple (read: small group) were on our way. Once we arrived at the “spot”, the realization of how lucky we were to go with this company versus the various other charter boats that had more than 10-20 in a boat, well just made us all want to high-five each other!!!! The crew themselves did such an outstanding job by making each of us comfortable, to asking what our skill-set is (have you snorkeled before? Are you comfortable in the water etc?) to the educational tid-bits of what Manta Rays are and what to do once in the water. Of course, I can go on and on, but I won’t. That can be read by other past reviews or do one better – experience for yourself (smile).

Now, because of our first excursion experienced, my husband and I decided to book a 2nd one with them – this time, the Dolphin excursion (10/11). Another bucket list crossed. Experiencing “swimming with dolphins” in a controlled environment is very different when “swimming with dolphins” in their natural habitat. Words can’t be described as to the “awesomeness” of being in the warm Pacific Ocean surrounded by spinner dolphins. Again, the crew (a different one) did such an outstanding job and also shared what we may see, what to look out for, but more importantly to just enjoy. I can go on and on, but I won’t. That also can be read by other past reviews, or do one better – experience for yourself (double smile).

Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures – thank you for helping fulfill a life-long yearning. It will be one that will never be forgotten.

1  Thank travelwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Aloha, This is such a fun way to describe the contrast between our guest capacity and that of the larger boats. It is true, we offer services that larger boats with crowds can not. Thank you for helping others to realize how wonderful it is to have a small group of friendly people.
Mahalo
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing