We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Just Do It"”

Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Swim with Wild Dolphins & Manta Rays everyday. Established in 2002 and still going strong; We have been the Winner of the Certificate of Excellence for 10 years now. We are a Big Island of Hawaii adventure for swimming with Dolphins & Manta Rays. Eco friendly, we follow the guidelines established to make our tours safe for the Manta Rays, dolphins and our guests. We are on the GREENLIST FOR MANTA RAY TOURS. ONLY CHOOSE A COMPANY THAT IS REGISTERED FOR SAFETY OF THE MANTA RAYS on the Green List. Morning Dolphin charters take you up the Kailua Kona coast to a pod of wild dolphins, usually 100 plus. Snorkel with them right next to you. Lunch & snacks included. Rated as #1 Night Manta Ray snorkel company by all the review web sites. These are the most exciting activities you'll do here. All gear included. These 2 activities with marine life will be a highlight of your trip. We take children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked this at the last minute. Captain Ron and his helper, Beth Ann were outstanding hosts. We and another couple had a memorable experience with the spinner dolphins and as an added treat we saw manta rays!

Of course its not guaranteed you'll see dolphins, but Ron does his best to get you into the pod and follows them up the coast. Food was simple but delicious.

I hear the night manta tour is great, and if/when we go back to Kona we will be looking up Captain Ron!

Thank SLOCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

As a small business, we do often have openings at the last minute. We want to enjoy our time with our guests on the water as much as they do. That's why we stay small. We may be hard to find but from what our past guests say, (it's the highlight of the vacation) so I guess we will stay small and offer great service to those who choose us over the larger boats.
Mahalo
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 569 of 746 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ron and Nathalie gave us an unforgettable experience; we swam with dozens, if not hundreds, of dolphins, and also saw the dance of a huge manta ray. What a treat, truly amazing stuff. The boat was comfortable and super clean, the ambiance friendly, relaxed yet also knowledgeable and attentive, the snacks tasty (yummy homemade macadamia nut brownie ....). Yes it's expensive, but SO worth it. Ron, who clearly knows his stuff, dropped us 3 times in front of huge incoming dolphin pods, and we also had a really nice swim on the reef with the ray. Kudos to Nathalie for taking care of our 8 year old daughter and making her feel totally at ease in the water and taking her to spot the best sights. It also didn't hurt that with a party of 5, we had the boat to ourselves. Highly, highly recommended !!!!!!!!!!!!!

1  Thank derekw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Aloha
Thank you for mentioning the atmosphere on our charters. All of our crew love their jobs and it shows in how they care for our guests on the tour. We really care about making a wonderful lasting impression of their adventure on the ocean here in Hawaii. We realize that to help the young ones on the snorkel part can give them a memory that will last a lifetime.
Mahalo
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Tip 1) If you are looking to be on a charter boat with more than 6 people - this is not for you.

Tip 2) If you are looking to be on a boat with an attentive, professional, nice and engaging crew - this is not for you.

Tip 3) Lastly, if you are looking to be on a boat where they don't serve their famous brownies -
this is certainly NOT for you.

Because of Trip Advisor, my husband and I were lucky to find this company, based on the multitude of positive reviews shared by others. With that, we booked our night excursion (10/8) with the Manta Rays which til this day, brings a smile to my face. It is certainly a bucket list item that I can cross. Directions from Captain Ron (when you book your excursion) to get to the meeting place - was very straight forward and very much appreciated. After signing your life away (kidding), my husband and I and another couple (read: small group) were on our way. Once we arrived at the “spot”, the realization of how lucky we were to go with this company versus the various other charter boats that had more than 10-20 in a boat, well just made us all want to high-five each other!!!! The crew themselves did such an outstanding job by making each of us comfortable, to asking what our skill-set is (have you snorkeled before? Are you comfortable in the water etc?) to the educational tid-bits of what Manta Rays are and what to do once in the water. Of course, I can go on and on, but I won’t. That can be read by other past reviews or do one better – experience for yourself (smile).

Now, because of our first excursion experienced, my husband and I decided to book a 2nd one with them – this time, the Dolphin excursion (10/11). Another bucket list crossed. Experiencing “swimming with dolphins” in a controlled environment is very different when “swimming with dolphins” in their natural habitat. Words can’t be described as to the “awesomeness” of being in the warm Pacific Ocean surrounded by spinner dolphins. Again, the crew (a different one) did such an outstanding job and also shared what we may see, what to look out for, but more importantly to just enjoy. I can go on and on, but I won’t. That also can be read by other past reviews, or do one better – experience for yourself (double smile).

Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures – thank you for helping fulfill a life-long yearning. It will be one that will never be forgotten.

1  Thank travelwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Aloha, This is such a fun way to describe the contrast between our guest capacity and that of the larger boats. It is true, we offer services that larger boats with crowds can not. Thank you for helping others to realize how wonderful it is to have a small group of friendly people.
Mahalo
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the cheerful attitudes of Capt Andy and crew to the homemade Brownies, this was an enjoyable experience.

Easy to find the boat, on time, good service. The fact that you are on a boat with six plus two crew makes all the difference. Other charters had 20 or more plus crew.

The Manta's were awesome!
I would recommend this adventure to anyone who can don a mask and snorkel
Which was easy as you just hung on to a ring.

Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Mahalo for such a nice review. Yes, with a smaller group of guests, we may have a littler higher rates but the return for having a small group of snorkelers is great. Thank you for highlighting the benefits about us. We cater to those that have experienced a large crowd and realize it' so much better to be off the tour bus and into your own boat.
Mahalo again
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We did two trips with them, the day snorkel trip which was a lot of fun. Nice boat and the captain and his crew were great. Boat only seats about 6 people and we were fortunate enough to have the boat to ourselves. Private charter feel without the high price tag. Had amazing encounter with what had to be a couple hundred dolphins. Got to swim withing inches of at least 20 or 30 of them. Also got the chance to swim with a few manta rays and some great reef areas. We also went our on the evening charter for the manta ray snorkle. They did a great job, an experience we will never forget. Different captain and crew but still top shelf and a great time. We watched all the other manta ray tour companies and all i could think was that they looked like a cattle call compaired to our group. they all had at least 20 or 30 people on their boats and could not possibly offer the kind of personal service that we recieved. They offer cold drinks, good sandwiches and amazing homemade brownies. Thank you guys for helping to make our honeymoon so special.

Thank Markwade33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We are really happy when we get these positive reviews.It is our goal that everyone who comes on one of our tours,experiences the best activity they do while here on the Island. It keeps us going even when the days on the water aren't the most perfect for us. We want our guests to have
a lasting memory of an enjoyable contact with marine life and the ocean of Hawaii. So we are glad that we delivered this to you.
Mahalo
Captain Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing