We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian Lunch”
Review of Los Habaneros

Los Habaneros
Ranked #86 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: In the Keahou shopping center.
Restaurant details
Description: In the Keahou shopping center.
Coeur dAlene, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had the Vege Enchilada $9.25, and the Rice Beans & Cheese Burrito $6.25. Decided to do the don't ask don't tell dialogue about whether the beans had lard. The fiery letters on the sign had me worried the spice would be too hot for my tender mouth. Nope, and the mild sauce was very mild. Pleasant and sparse atmosphere. I think the carne or fish meals might be more savory from the looks of the plates on either side of us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skypilot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    66
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than we expected.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a small mall cafe with a lot of local clientel. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the price. The place has no atmosphere but great value if you want to try something other than seafood or burgers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank trag51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We ate here one night when we want a low-key dinner. Great nachos. Not a fancy place at all, totally casual.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skatie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good price average food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had tacos and a quesadilla and didn't want to spend a lot of money or time on lunch. It was close to our hotel and we were shopping at the Longs Drugs store in the same complex. The food was fine, but not the hole in the wall treasure we were hoping for.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than Taco del Mar...”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Husband is a big fan of mexican dishes, so when we were looking for a quick late lunch, he suggested this place.

It was already 2 pm, 2 tables were occupied, and 3 of us were on line at the counter to order food, the ambiance is nice, mexican decors and paintings, i love their table, really pretty. The place was ventilated. Food was fast, i ordered Al Pastor Tacos, im not a big mexican food fan but I did enjoyed the Al Pastors I had when we were at Kauai, so I wanted to try it again. sad to say, this was a dissapointment. Meat was dry, veggies too. Husband ordered Carne Asada Quesadilla, I had to trade my last taco for a slice of his quesadilla because I was still hungry. Quesadilla was okay. Better than Taco del Mar. A bit of a turn off was in the soda machine, there was a sign that says $.50 for refill. Tsk! Tsk! Tsk!

All in all, i would still come back. But definitely order something else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Habaneros also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Los Habaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing