We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Taco del Mar...”
Review of Los Habaneros

Los Habaneros
Ranked #85 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: In the Keahou shopping center.
Restaurant details
Description: In the Keahou shopping center.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than Taco del Mar...”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Husband is a big fan of mexican dishes, so when we were looking for a quick late lunch, he suggested this place.

It was already 2 pm, 2 tables were occupied, and 3 of us were on line at the counter to order food, the ambiance is nice, mexican decors and paintings, i love their table, really pretty. The place was ventilated. Food was fast, i ordered Al Pastor Tacos, im not a big mexican food fan but I did enjoyed the Al Pastors I had when we were at Kauai, so I wanted to try it again. sad to say, this was a dissapointment. Meat was dry, veggies too. Husband ordered Carne Asada Quesadilla, I had to trade my last taco for a slice of his quesadilla because I was still hungry. Quesadilla was okay. Better than Taco del Mar. A bit of a turn off was in the soda machine, there was a sign that says $.50 for refill. Tsk! Tsk! Tsk!

All in all, i would still come back. But definitely order something else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    66
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly service is a fast food restaurant”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fast mexican food, reasonable size portions, nothing special, not horrible either. No reason to return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CMH22260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great prices..”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We came in here with family on the spur of the moment.. the owner (?) was accommodating and friendly.. the food was good.. but we did have to ask for salsa..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Mex food”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Close to condo resort area. Fast food kind of place serving generous portions of good Mexican food. Reasonably priced. Recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank westyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our home away from home for Mexican food in Hawaii”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This wonderful little restaurant was recommended by our concierge. We are so thankful she told us about it! Great margaritas, wonderful mexican food, no frills but still nice and homey and everything we could have hoped for, for our Mexican food fix in Hawaii. We ate there 3 nights! You order and pick up at the counter. We LOVED Los Habaneros! THANK YOU SO MUCH for your delicious (and inexpensive) food, and delicious margaritas!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jawsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Habaneros also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Los Habaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing