We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican beer in Hawaii”
Review of Rosa's Cantina - CLOSED

Rosa's Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a new restuarant. I went there last week while on vacation...it was fabulous Mexican food...would like to share it with others.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good Mexican beer in Hawaii”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Celebrating Cinco de Mayo in Hawaii always seemed a bit odd, but there are Mexican restaurants everywhere. Rosa's is a nice waterfront, second floor restaurant with a great view, good food and nice Mexican beer. Service is fast and friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    62
    15
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Try the lava bowl”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Great meal - great view - great server. Our last night in Kona and one of our favorites. The lava bowl is interesting. Have eaten in many Mexican restaurants but never saw anything like this. Boiling hot served with tortillas. A super way to end our visit -enjoyed the ocean view and a great meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Location is it's best feature”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had drinks here several times on our latest trip to Kona. The first time we were one of the only couples there, got there just as happy hour was beginning and we only had a couple of beers and some chips and salsa and the service was attentive. Our second trip was a bit later in the afternoon, but still during happy hour. It was a bit more crowded, but the service was much slower and not nearly as attentive.
The second floor location and the view from there is good, not great due to the telephone pools and wires, but good. I am sure we will visit here again on our next trip to give it another shot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great view of Kona Bay from this second story restaurant. Friendly service. Good food. Inexpensive. Good place to watch sports.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank barlar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Drinks, Good Entertainment”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Have visited here for dinner a few times and always found what I craved for on the menu, from Mexican to American dishes. Its a great place to be at sunset as you have an excellent elevated view of the ocean and sunset. Early evening usually finds an entertainer singing some great songs. The wait staff is very efficient and attentive. You won't be sorry if you have a meal here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa's Cantina also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing