We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large group worked well”
Review of Rosa's Cantina - CLOSED

Rosa's Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This is a new restuarant. I went there last week while on vacation...it was fabulous Mexican food...would like to share it with others.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Large group worked well”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were a large party of nine. Service was good and the food was very tasty. The room was being handled by one waiter and he did an excellent job.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    62
    15
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roberts Creek, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,352 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service and a Terrific View”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We felt like something a little for "sit down formal" (and no this place is not a formal setting, just more formal than Killer Tacos...) and 'had a hankering for Mexican food with ice cold Coronas and RC's fit the bill nicely. Service was efficient and friendly, lots of limes for our beers and the food was of a good Tex-Mex standard (remember, you're in Hawaii), all in a nice upper floor setting with great views over the water and activity below (perfect for people watching!) and located right in the heart of Kailua-Kona on Alii Drive so it's perfect for us who have a rental in the area abd don't want to drive. Muy bueno!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate here on our last night on the Big Island. The service came with a smile and the food was yummy (with generous portions). The free chips/salsa was good to start. It’s averagely priced for places on the island. I’d definitely recommend and go back if ever went back to the island. Also, it's well located - lots of shops nearby.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank foreverblended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth WA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place had the BEST mexican food we had in a long time!! Not only was it served quick but the portions were very generous, they also gave a nice free starter!! ALSO THE VIEW WAS THE BEST

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Friendly hostess. Ordered the special chicken in a big boiling rock bowl. Very good food! Too bad they ran out of cactus as that was important to the dish. They substituted avocado for the cactus. Pretty good save. Exellllent chips and the salsa was as good as we we have had.
Now the $ 3 margaritas were not worth the $3. My wife gave me hers and had a beer. I drank both margaritas but had a bad after taste. A little like anti freeze??? Waitress made some effort, but I had to go get our silverware and ask for more salsa but she brought it with a smile.
My wife needed a Mexican food hit so we came. Very good special. Probably over rated as a 4

    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tater20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa's Cantina also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing