We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday night in Kailua Kona”
Review of Rosa's Cantina - CLOSED

Rosa's Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is a new restuarant. I went there last week while on vacation...it was fabulous Mexican food...would like to share it with others.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday night in Kailua Kona”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had drinks at the bar first. We arrived just before 5:00 pm and unlike other spots along Alii Street, it was nearly empty. It began to fill quickly though. Theo was behind the bar and was informative, funny and made a good drink. We moved to a table for dinner. Our fajitas were very good. The salsa was spicy good, with lots of fresh tomatoes, onions and cilantro. She asked for a bit of the HOT salsa and tasted the habaneros right away. The price was good, as was the service. I would certainly go back if I didn't live half way around the world.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    62
    15
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and entertainment!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

i wandered into Rosa's one Friday night by myself (I am a 30 something female who was traveling solo) and I totally enjoyed every minute of my experience! The staff was very attentive, the food was amazing and the entertainment was very fun and really made me feel not so alone! Go to Rosa's if you are looking for a good meal with a great view and great service!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glamazon1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Are you people kidding me? You've never eaten Mexican before...”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We live in South Texas and eat both AUTHENTIC Mexican and Tex-Mex both and Rosa's came recommended by a 35 year resident of the island living in Kona. What an embarrassment to Mexican food, quite honestly the food in general was terrible not just terrible for being 'Mexican' food. Of the 43 US States we have traveled to this was the worst dinner experience for food overall without question. The waiter was a goof, the view was ok of the ocean although mostly blocked by poles and wires, etc. - the food though was just terrrrrrrrrrrible. I would NOT recommend the food here to anybody, ever. I don't know how people find this even safe to eat let alone 'good' - the quality shouldn't be aloud in the US. People that like this food have never left this island before and don't know any better...what a shame.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadC799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua kona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“water view”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

great view of water. open air restaurant but a bit pricey for the servings. bar has great drinks but also pricey.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank darlene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went here on our first night after 18 hours of travel from Australia. I love Mexican food and being vegetarian, it gives me a lot of options. We ordered $5 Mai Tai's and Margaritas - they sure are stronger than they make back home! The meal was huge and delicious and we came back a second time a few nights later. Great service, great food, stunning view and strong drinks! What more can you ask for?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank razors_girl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa's Cantina also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing