We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky little restaurant/fish Market”

Bite Me Fish Market Bar and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Funky little restaurant/fish Market”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We both had fish tacos..I had them with salad and my friend had them w/ beans and rice. Great! Good prices on beer for happy hour. We had planned to go back but never made it the second time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pachappa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    240
    85
    38
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good every time”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Well what can you say about this place.....
Location directly looking over the harbor
Fresh fish caught same day straight from the boat and freshly cooked, with very reasonable prices. We recommend the fresh shrimps and also the fish dips starters
Service was very friendly.
Only downside was no draft beers, but so long as you can suffer a bucket of Stella then your sorted
Thanks guys you made a great trip most enjoyable

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank baz1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warne, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“simple sustenance that won’t break the bank”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Their location right in the middle of Honokohau Harbor marina guarantees them a steady clientele of watermen and their client fishermen and divers coming and going off the water. I wish we had rented a condo with a kitchen because the offerings at their fish market were definitely fresh!
We ate at the separate little shack style restaurant as we waited for the boat for a manta ray night dive. I had an unimaginatively spiced fried calamari and my wife had a tasty fish taco. We tried both their macaroni salad and fries which were both unremarkable. The atmosphere was mostly open air, beer drinking, crusty old sea salts and we felt right at home. I wouldn’t go out of my way to eat there but if you are there it’s the only place to eat- and a good bargain to boot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrtravelingpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Super casual with freshest fish, right at the Honokohau harbor. Specials are always great, can buy fish to take home too. Been here many times and recently went with friends who were in Kona for the first time. We were sandy and salty from swimming at the beach and had a great lunch sitting at the bar. Consistently good food here, locals here often, lots of boaters and charter folks. They also have "taxidermied" fish there too so you can see what an Ono or Mahi or Marlin looks like....before you eat the fresh ones.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AzCarolTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great seafood.”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The fish is very fresh. The restaurant is located at the marina so the fish probably comes straight from the fishing boats. Fish was cooked in a variety of ways. We had fresh Ono steamed in foil with a salsa sauce which was perfectly cooked. Service, though, was clueless and rushed. The waitress gave us the check well before we had finished eating our meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VerdeRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bite Me Fish Market Bar and Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing