We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing and Mostly Off Topic of Natural Energy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friends of NELHA

Friends of NELHA
Ranked #45 of 128 things to do in Kailua-Kona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See the future now with Friends of NELHA and experience a fascinating tour of Hawaii Ocean Science Technology Park near Kailua-Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. FON tours showcase the development of renewable energy resources and uses of cold deep seawater and warm surface seawater in innovative aquaculture and mariculture activities and much more. This is a one-of-kind science and technology site in the world, an exciting learning experience and a must-see stop on the Big Island. FON offers public presentations and tours of selected NELHA energy and aquaculture projects Monday through Friday at 10 am, excluding holidays. Reservations are required for Friday's Grand Tour. Friends of NELHA (Natural Energy Laboratory Hawaii Authority) is a nonprofit organization providing education and outreach in support of sustainable agriculture and renewable energy.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Mostly Off Topic of Natural Energy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The second half of the 3 hour tour was about fish and mollusk farming, with the end being a 30 minute sales pitch to buy their mollusks. Basically nothing related to natural energy. The initial 1 hour presentation was interesting but not worth the obscene $35 price tag.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank brianmcnamara1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    5
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting, maybe a little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

An interesting educational tour, probably best enjoyed by adults. I thought based on what was presented, it is priced a little on the high side. If on a first trip to the big island, this probably does not rise to near the top of a long list of available activities, while frequent Hawaii visitors may enjoy a different experience. -Will not need to do a second tour and two small nibbles of Abalone and I have all I need for a lifetime.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not at all what I was expecting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was so excited about this tour as my husband and I are interested in alternative energy. He is an electrical engineer so this type of geeky stuff is right up our alley. We arrived about five minutes early and were surprised the presentation had already started. Our guide for the day was very soft spoken and during the presentation we could hardly hear her. She spoke about solar panels heating mineral oil which was interesting but we later found out they went bankrupt which she failed to mention. Everyone then loaded into their own cars and followed her to the first stop where we spent about 10 minutes looking at a type of power converter using ocean water that was not even functional. The remainder of the tour was basically sustainable fish farming which was somewhat interesting and then an abalone farm which was interesting for the first 10 minutes but the remaining 40 minutes was basically a sales pitch where they wanted us to spread the word about abalone. I was very disappointed in this tour but maybe my expectations were too high.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sixlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boring, unless you really like touring fish hatchery's.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Over half the time on the ground tour is about marine farming. One place showed us feeding a large fish, and the other place showed us some Abalone shell fish as they lift up the inside of a small cage. You get to taste a small piece 3/4" square. The energy part of the ground tour was a single sight of a shut down ocean energy conversion thing. You could tell from the rust it was not used for a while. There literature material does not say there is a cost, but once you get there was a charge of over 30.00 per person.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“go on one of the tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

you won't regret it. Bring water and sunscreen, pick a tour from their site and sign up. An amazing place doing extraordinary things

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joheydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends of NELHA also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Friends of NELHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing