We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching with Body Glove”
Review of Body Glove Cruises

Body Glove Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.63*
and up
Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay
More Info
$141.94*
and up
Snorkel Dolphin Adventure aboard Luxury Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Body Glove Cruises offers premium snorkeling, SCUBA, historical dinner/sunset cruises and whale watching in Kailua Kona on the Big Island of Hawai'i. On our Deluxe Morning Snorkel & Dolphin Adventure, we take you to an area of the Kona coast that is exclusive to our cruise company. There are over 600 different species of ocean life for you to admire in the waters off our shores. Wear your swimsuit and bring a towel, we will accommodate your every other need. We provide a continental breakfast, a BBQ lunch, snorkel gear, and reef-safe sun screen. Our vessel, The Kanoa II has fresh water showers, spacious restrooms, a high jump, and a water slide. Add to that a bar that serves the best Mai Tais around, and you can begin to feel just how many different ways there are to have the best day of your vacation right here. Our Historical Sunset Dinner Cruise has been voted the best dinner cruise on The Big Island for five consecutive years West Hawaii Today. Here you will be treated to informative and engaging historical narrative, live entertainment, an elaborate Hawaiian style BBQ buffet dinner, a free cocktail from our full-service bar and an amazing Pacific Ocean sunset. During winter months, from December to the beginning of April, we watch whales. Our naturalist is a wealth of information, and the humpbacks that visit our waters here are active. They sing, spout, spy-hop, and breach, and, in the rare circumstance that you do not see a whale with us, you can come again free. That's our guarantee.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Apache Junction, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Whale watching with Body Glove”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked a whale watching cruise in
Kona and went today while vacationing there.
Body Glove did an awesome job!
The crew was so helpful, fun and attentively personable!
We had a party of four, one in a wheelchair. The accessibility
was very adequate including the boarding and the restrooms.
Mickey, a deck hand was very attentive and enthusiastic in doing
all he could to make us comfortable and happy. The naturalist that was on the microphone the entire time we were out was so knowledgable and informative about the Life of the Humpbacks, the Island of Kona, the wildlife of the island and the ecosystem of the Hawaiian islands that even if we never saw a whale on the cruise it still would have been a very enjoyable cruise, but we did see whales, several! The snacks, fresh fruit, and drinks were a nice addition. There was also a can bar offering beers, wines and Mai Tais. We had a wonderful time on this cruise!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodyglovecruises, Owner at Body Glove Cruises, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Aloha Charlene R,

Mahalo Charlene for letting everyone here in on your experience with Body Glove Cruises. We are so happy to hear that you found our facilities totally accessible to your guest with special needs.

Our naturalist makes an effort to be informative and educational about more than the Hump Back Whales alone. He is a wealth of information! And Mikey will be happy to hear that he was able to make your Whale Watch special for you.

We had a wonderful time providing you this experience!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,519
    294
    93
    41
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Historical Cruise is a winner!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I went on the historical dinner cruise with some guests from out of town, and had a great time. This cruise goes down the Kona coast, with a narrative by a very well informed guy who grew up on Kauai. I've lived here 25 years and learned things about the coast that were quite interesting.

The dinner buffet is at Kealakekua Bay, one of my favorite spots in the islands. The food was good, but the best part was the cruise itself. The crew was friendly and eager to provide good service, the ocean calm, and the sunset beautiful. There were dolphins outside the bay that joined us for a bow riding session.
Oh, I must say the live musician on board was excellent; in between narrative he would play, and it added a very nice touch to this cruise.

I would recommend the historical cruise to locals and visitors alike.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank konadaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodyglovecruises, Owner at Body Glove Cruises, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Aloha konadaze:

We here at Body Glove Cruises are always so thrilled when a party from Kona has a chance to enjoy one of our excursions. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

We highly value your recommendation sir!

Mahalo :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Denver makes whale watching exciting!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We learned a lot about the history of whales, the climate, their behavioral patterns and mating habits. Even more exciting were all the whales we saw. A calf came right up to the side of the boat and it was one of the most incredible things I've ever witnessed in nature.

Helpful?
Thank konaseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodyglovecruises, Owner at Body Glove Cruises, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Aloha Konaseagull:

On behalf of our naturalist, Denver, accept from us a warm Mahalo. He's been receiving so much praise this season! He is nothing if not educational!

The fact that you were able to see something so impactful on board our catamaran is what we truly value here at Body Glove Cruises! Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner cruise”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was told when I phoned they would spend time looking for whales which we've seen from shore in abundance. Unfortunately, they hurried back after visiting the Captain Cook monument, past 2 whales without slowing down - and that was it. That said, the history was interesting - though only talked about on the way to the monument - and the food decent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodyglovecruises, Owner at Body Glove Cruises, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Aloha Jill and Rob:

Mahalo for joining us on our Historical Sunset Cruise, and thank you for posting this review. We always appreciate an opportunity to address any and all issues our guests have experienced on board with us.

Firstly, allow us to apologize for our miscommunication. During our Historical Sunset Dinner Cruise we follow a predetermined route, and do not deviate from that route in search of whales. That being said, if time permits we always enjoy stopping to view whales that we see along that route. Our regret here is we seem to have given you the impression that we would actually search for whales during this trip, which is something we do only during our Whale Watch Adventure.

We appreciate that you found the historical narrative to be worthwhile, and are passing your comments along to our historian. Though the narrative takes place while on our way to The Captain Cook Monument, our historian is always available for questions after he is finished with his presentation, and we hope that though you were dissatisfied with its length, you felt comfortable asking for more information. He loves to share what he knows with curious guests!

Finally, allow us to express our apologies for what you feel was an average meal. We aim to be outstanding, and the fact that you felt the food provided was only decent is not something we are ever satisfied to hear.

We would love another opportunity to show you an amazing time, and encourage you to contact us in the future. We are open to incorporating menu items that would better suit you palate, and would enjoy a chance to hear from you other ways by which we can improve our cruise for you and for others.

Mahalo and Kind Regards :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Excellent Crew, Good and Food! Not for the weak stomach!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This tour had a lot of highs and only one down. First off the crew was simply amazing and fun. They were helpful and made you feel safe. For food they grilled burgers and they also had a continental breakfast ready when we boarded. The one downfall was sea sickness. There were multiple people throwing up and not feeling well. They did provide ginger in order to ease an upset stomach free! Also though the captain said there are multiple locations he can take us too he decides based on weather and the location he chose for us had a very minimal amount of fish. So if you go hopefully you get another location with more fish. I am a non swimmer and they provide vests and floats, i did not have any issues getting around in the water. Again we had a great time would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Menendez21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodyglovecruises, Owner at Body Glove Cruises, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Aloha Menendez21:

Mahalo for this complimentary review! We appreciate you and the time you've taken to share your thoughts!

On behalf of our crew, thank you for your kind words! They work hard at making sure you have the best possible experience with us. On behalf of the ocean, we apologize. Some days the water is unexpectedly choppy. We are happy to know that you have had a great time, and that some of the other guests that day were able to ease their sea sickness with the ginger we have on hand, on board.

We always say that anyone can come out and have a blast-- from experienced snorkelers to non-swimmers like yourself. Glad to know you made use of our flotation devices and were able to enjoy the water during your adventure!

We hope to have you aboard again some time soon!

Mahalo :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Body Glove Cruises also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Body Glove Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing