We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and delicious”
Review of Krua Thai Cuisine

Krua Thai Cuisine
Ranked #67 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $64
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Henry Street
Description: Krua Thai Cuisine is the newest favorite within the Kona community. Popular prices and exciting variety make Krua a must experience on your visit to the Big Island. Over 60 menu selections daily means you can return over and over to find your favorite of all the delectables. Truly Authentic Thai food from the Heart in the heart of Kailua-Kona
Honolulu
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient and delicious”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Krua Thai is a great little Thai place off the main drag of Kona. The menu is full of vegetarian options. The setting is comfortable and staff are friendly and efficient. I return to it every time I visit Kona for work.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank skilarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    89
    44
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm not a pro when it comes to Thai food, but the four of us at dinner enjoyed our food. The friends we were with eat there often and keep coming back, but it was the first time for my husband and me. Service was good, prices were reasonable. The negative parts - my friend's mahimahi was very fresh, but quite undercooked. We got prompt refills on ice tea, but no more ice until we asked. We'll go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice decor & authentic Thai food.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Convenient location, but not too scenic. Inside decor is very nice & relaxing. Fast service, good portions & prices. Especially like to go there for their lunch specials.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai in town”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always enjoy going to Thai Krua, especially for the lunch specials they always run. The place has good atmosphere and very nice decor. The service is good and the food is best. Always forget what we last ordered so we get something new usually every visit. Yummy - so have to go back soon!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KonaKawika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We decided on Krua Thai after seeing the positive reviews, and given that we love thai food. It was an excellent choice. I don't do well with anything spicy, but I love yellow curry so I ordered it with chicken and asked for it to be mild. I also was given the option of having sticky rice with this meal, which I love, and my boyfriend ordered the drunken noodle, medium spice. Mine was perfect, completely mild exactly as I ordered, and the taste was wonderful! His drunken noodle was also fantastic, we were both completely thrilled with the food there. The service was also very good, our waitress checked on us periodically but was in no way overbearing. This was a very good experience overall, and when we received the check, we were told there was a 15% discount for the month of October, so the already reasonable prices were reduced! I have to agree with the majority of the reviews here in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InterestedTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thai Cuisine also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Krua Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing