We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Star Gazing Trip”
Review of Mauna Kea Summit

Mauna Kea Summit
Book In Advance
More Info
$213.54*
and up
Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour
Ranked #2 of 129 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 13,796 feet, this peak offers an incredible view of lava, desert, the valley and Mauna Loa.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Star Gazing Trip”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Everything was perfect! No moonlight the night we went so we had a wonderful display of stars and planets. Tour guide had an excellent knowledge of the area going to summit on Saddle Road. Loved every minute of the trip. Can't wait to take the grand kids when they're older! Looking through the Celestron telescope was a fantastic experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Floridacrackers207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,708
    504
    118
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Must on any Big Island Visit”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Get a rental car and go at during the evening. We went up around 4pm and stayed till after sunset. There are some truly amazing views from this place. We went up without 4WD without issue, just go slow and be careful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a fan at all”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Way too many people crammed into a very small building and outdoor "patio". It was shoulder to shoulder. The facility just isn't suited for THAT many people. I eventually used the men's restroom b/c the line for the women's was way too long and I would have missed the bus. We never saw the sunset for the clouds which was ok b/c we would see the stars back at the base right? wrong. It was so cloudy we didn't even stop to look through the telescopes we only stopped to wait in another bathroom line. The following night was cancelled due to the clouds which in my opinion is a much better option than going and wasting an entire evening. They should have cancelled our trip too. Basically we paid almost 200 bucks a person for a van ride with strangers up a lava mountain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank northendjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Window on the universe”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Dress warm and do it. Go at night for the stargazing at the visitors center. When you have a look through the telescopes go to the far end of the silversword garden to get away from the people and the lights and take it all in. Its amazing!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like a dream come true!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stargazing on Mauna Kea has been a childhood dream of mine for a long time. I am an avid astronomy nerd so this was a huge deal for me. It was everything I had hoped. We planned our trip up 3 hours before the moon rise that day. The view of the cosmos was amazing. What I didn't expect was how many people were up there!

I loved how they setup huge telescopes for people to look at certain objects. Saturn was the hot chick that night and she was a show off. They also pointed their telescopes at the ring nebula, some start clusters, some galaxies and some of the oldest stars in our galaxy as well. I took the time to get some great photos of the milky way and the super massive blackhole that is at the center of our galaxy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Neeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauna Kea Summit also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mauna Kea Summit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing