We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What to FEEL at the top of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Kea Summit

Mauna Kea Summit
Book In Advance
$199*
and up
Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Kona and Waikoloa - Small Group Tour
Ranked #1 of 122 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 13,796 feet, this peak offers an incredible view of lava, desert, the valley and Mauna Loa.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What to FEEL at the top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

as you travel around the summit on the 4 wheeling road, you will pass through different climates and scenery.....you don't feel like it is on an island at all!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RadineCoopersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,194
    408
    102
    18
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adventures in the Sky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We took a trip up to the summit. It was an amazing sunset. We didn't get to see the stars due to the cloudy weather conditions, which was disappointing. We had a great time though and would certainly recommend this trip, just don't expect to the stars.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A definite place to visit. Mauna Kea Adventures does a great trip to the mountain. It includes a trip to the summit. The staff is great.

Helpful?
Thank Jeffreykmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, if the weather cooperates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Your enjoyment of this trip will depend completely on the weather. We go up to the summit when it was nice out - cold but clear - and it was a sight to behold. Beautiful, otherworldly, straight out of a sci-fi flick. However, about 10 minutes later it started to rain and became bitterly cold and windy. We still made the short trek to the permafrost lake (~35 minutes each way from just below the summit at a cautiously slow pace given the altitude) and spent the next couple of hours at the visitors' center trying to dry out and warm up. Unfortunately the rain held up so there was no telescope viewing that night. I consider my crew lucky to have made it to the summit before the storm. Most at the visitors' center had not been so fortunate. By the time we left it was 20 degrees F at the summit and the scientists were considering evacuation. Ack!

For some reason they keep the visitors' center bathroom doors open, making them crazy cold. Strangely, I recommend the porta'potties near the summit over the real bathrooms at 9000 feet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Free and the best experience you will have.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It's free! 4wd is good thinking yet some people dare not to use one. Recommend bringing a small bag of chips and place it on your dashboard so you can see it expand with the pressure changes. Also, the recommended half hour wait at the visitor center was a good idea because you will feel a big change respiratory wise at the top. Have fun!

Helpful?
4 Thank Jdeboe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauna Kea Summit also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mauna Kea Summit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing